Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    1
    Post Likes

    Will R407c Work In A R410a Condenser?

    I have a customer whose side yard is very narrow at 5', not unusual here in Southern California, he had an R22 system installed at the tail end of the phase out of the "dry charge" R22 units so the system isn't in too bad of shape. The problem is the existing condenser blocks almost the entire access on the side yard. He'd like a side discharge "slim line" condenser to regain access to the side yard but there are none that I'm aware of that aren't R410a and the customer doesn't want to spend the money on a new R410a system.

    I've done several R407c retrofits that have worked well and that got me questioning what would happen if you recovered all the R410a from a "slimline" condenser and charged it with R407c? I'm sure that would void any warranty but they both use POE, the compressors built for higher pressures so maybe that's a positive. I understand the R410a compressor has smaller capacity but would there be some type of offset that would let the system work?

    Has anyone tried this combination successfully? Just kind of curious....

    Kirk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    295
    Post Likes
    Will it work, yes. A compressor doesn't really care what its compressing so long as it can be compressed. Will it cool at its rated capacity, no.

  3. Likes JeffWil liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    1,846
    Post Likes
    Not sure I'm grasping what exactly you are saving by doing this?
    Climate Control Solutions for your Home or Office

    Serving Northeast Philadelphia and Surrounding Areas

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Ithaca, New York
    Posts
    38
    Post Likes
    How is putting 407 in a 410 compressor saving the customer money?

    Sent from my SM-S327VL using Tapatalk

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    75,374
    Post Likes
    Just put the R410A condenser in, reuse the indoor unit, and change out the indoor metering device to R410A.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. Likes vin lashon, JeffWil liked this post
  8. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Deep Southeast
    Posts
    3,711
    Post Likes
    A 410a compressor running 407C will lose about 35% capacity.

    beenthere's solution is your best bet.

  9. Likes Core_d, JeffWil liked this post
  10. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    20,010
    Post Likes
    This forum requires that you wait 20 seconds between posts. Please try again in 50 seconds.

    Experience - knowing when to get the hell out of the way and plug your ears. "Don't be a sissy. Turn it on!"

    Pecmsg - "NEST should only be used with 3-M filters to guarantee total destruction of the equipment!"

    Poodle Head Mikey - "the world is well populated with the unknowing and the uncaring and the stupid."

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,592
    Post Likes
    build a ramp/ stairway going over it …. cheaper and easier , and looks great too ….

  12. Likes mike7357 liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.