Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,213
    Post Likes

    Measurequick diagnosis vs iManifold app

    Which one is more accurate? I entered the same info into each app. The MQ app says 3 flags on liquid line restriction. And 2 flags on undercharged. IManifold app just shows low airflow.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    1,729
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by 270wsm View Post
    Which one is more accurate? I entered the same info into each app. The MQ app says 3 flags on liquid line restriction. And 2 flags on undercharged. IManifold app just shows low airflow.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Since I designed them both, I can tell you for sure MQ is. It is the second generation and has many more diagnostic calculator and indicators. That said, garbage in produces garbage out. Make sure that you pay close attention to the profile of the system. Flags are "symptoms of" Symptoms of a liquid line restriction might be low liquid pressure, low suction, and liquid line temp below ambient for example. An undercharge would have both of the same.
    JLB,

  3. Likes kdean1, KeyResults liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,213
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Jim, in your opinion is the field piece job link as accurate as the Testo smart probes?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    1,729
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by 270wsm View Post
    Jim, in your opinion is the field piece job link as accurate as the Testo smart probes?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I have not tested them all side by side against a reference piece of equipment, so I do not know. We are working on a solution for calculating measurement confidence for these types of devices.
    JLB,

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    158
    Post Likes
    A few years ago I jumped into the iPad on service calls and began to log customer systems. I was building up a nice database and all was good. Then the app maker just vanished.

    So, while accuracy is troubleshooting is important, long term presence and staying power is also really important if you want tech’s to jump in on this stuff.

    It seems like HVAC software for mobile tablets / phones have come and gone with the seasons. MQ looks REALLY promising and useful. Here’s hoping for a lengthy MQ existence!

  7. Likes 270wsm liked this post
  8. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,213
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter

    Measurequick diagnosis vs iManifold app

    Quote Originally Posted by jim bergmann View Post
    I have not tested them all side by side against a reference piece of equipment, so I do not know. We are working on a solution for calculating measurement confidence for these types of devices.
    I think the Bluetooth range of the Fieldpiece may be a huge deciding factor compared to Testo. If I walked outside at all I lose signal from My Testo and I have to restart the app to get it to connect again


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    1,729
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by 270wsm View Post
    I think the Bluetooth range of the Fieldpiece may be a huge deciding factor compared to Testo. If I walked outside at all I lose signal from My Testo and I have to restart the app to get it to connect again


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The nice feature of the FP probes is you walk back into range and they immediately get data. We also lock the data in for a short time when range becomes an issue. Having live data gave us a lot of opportunities to optimize the data handling.
    JLB,

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    15,673
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jim bergmann View Post
    The nice feature of the FP probes is you walk back into range and they immediately get data. We also lock the data in for a short time when range becomes an issue. Having live data gave us a lot of opportunities to optimize the data handling.
    Hats off to you sir, you're doing a fine job!
    I really enjoyed using my Job Link probes with MeasureQuick today, especially the fact that the measurements update much faster, seems like once every second or two instead of once every 5 seconds.

    I did run into one infinite popup box about checking the probe connections when I turned off my probes without disconnecting in the app, or closing the app, then tried to use my phone later, but closing the app was all I had to do.
    Other than that one thing, actually firing up and using the probes is more seamless with MQ than the JL app,

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    1,729
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    Hats off to you sir, you're doing a fine job!
    I really enjoyed using my Job Link probes with MeasureQuick today, especially the fact that the measurements update much faster, seems like once every second or two instead of once every 5 seconds.

    I did run into one infinite popup box about checking the probe connections when I turned off my probes without disconnecting in the app, or closing the app, then tried to use my phone later, but closing the app was all I had to do.
    Other than that one thing, actually firing up and using the probes is more seamless with MQ than the JL app,
    Thanks for the feedback Mark! Good to hear it is working well for you. The loop was not infinite; it was one pop-up for each lost probe. We will do some updates to make that better. The team did a lot of work on the connection and the probe management in the app to make it a good experience in MQ. Glad you noticed. Things will only get better with time. We did a lot of work on diagnostics and a first round of trending as well. Keep us in the loop with any improvements you wold like to see.
    JLB,

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Upstate, South Carolina
    Posts
    213
    Post Likes
    Can you use the Testo 550 with the Testo smart probes with MQ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.