+ Reply to Thread

Thread: switching from residential hvac to industrial refrigeration

Post Likes

switching from residential hvac to industrial refrigeration

Ive been working residential hvac for 5 years. Im looking to make a move to industrial/commercial refrigeration. Would I be required to take any schooling in order to make the move? I'm epa universal certified.
    Just really not sure how to get my foot into the door.

Post Likes
    I would think it would be similar to any other job change. The EPA Universal means you have a basis of basic knowledge of nothing other than generics.

I would also think that you would likely be starting out as a new guy in any company and their structure would dictate your training. If you had any idea of the company who would hire you, you could then take classes to tailor your education to their structure. Guessing that is going to be HARD.

Go to companies that do what you want, tell them you want to learn and progress. If you know how to read, comprehend, and use the tools you have (especially the gauges, meter, and reference materials) you're far ahead of most fresh out of school techs trained in the field you're trying to get into.
    Nest is POO!!

Post Likes
    Start by just walking up to the techs that work for those type companies. You probably already have an idea of who some of them are. Especially from trips to the supply houses. Introduce yourself and strike up a conversation, working in a question of what they do, the type of equipment they work on, and how they like it. Then mention that you've been thinking about doing that type work, and ask if they have any advice. Regardless of the outcome of that conversation, develop any relationship that you can. Networking with others in this business is always a good idea. It can open up options for you. Good luck.

4. Likes crazzycajun, nutradesman liked this post.
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by gt4902 View Post