Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes

    Cylon BMS system change SMTP settings

    We have a Cylon BMS

    I think it's their UC32 product, we have a UI on a PC for changing temperature and boiler settings and stuff which works,

    And I think it has something called RomMailer built in for Alerts, it used to point to our old email server on an internal IP but I need it to email out via Office365's direct send MX record as the old email server is being decommissioned,

    I'm not sure how to edit the SMTP settings though, anyone dealt with one?

    I've found the admin settings: <info removed> on here and they work so that's a good start

    Thanks,
    Last edited by kontrolphreak; 04-11-2018 at 04:18 PM. Reason: User/Password on open forum

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,051
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisleng View Post
    We have a Cylon BMS

    I think it's their UC32 product, we have a UI on a PC for changing temperature and boiler settings and stuff which works,

    And I think it has something called RomMailer built in for Alerts, it used to point to our old email server on an internal IP but I need it to email out via Office365's direct send MX record as the old email server is being decommissioned,

    I'm not sure how to edit the SMTP settings though, anyone dealt with one?

    I've found the admin settings: <info removed> on here and they work so that's a good start

    Thanks,
    The UC32 product is the Cylon field controllers. What actual BMS front end are you using? I have seen these devices sit under multiple front end platforms, but the most typical is either Teletrol or American Auto-Matrix. Cylon essentially bought out Teletrol and American Auto-Matrix. Typically if you have UC32 controllers that is before Cylon acquired American Auto-Matrix. So I would expect a Teletrol eBuilding system. I suppose you could actually have the Cylon front end (which is rare), and that would be called Cylon Command Centre. Do you know what front end system you are using?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    J. King

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I'm over in England if that makes any difference,

    The "user" view is in a thing called CCview from Unitron Control Centre, I also have Unitron Engineering Centre installed if that helps?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,051
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisleng View Post
    I'm over in England if that makes any difference,

    The "user" view is in a thing called CCview from Unitron Control Centre, I also have Unitron Engineering Centre installed if that helps?
    Yeah Unitron Engineering Centre is the programming/commissioning tool for the UC32 controllers. You probably have a Command Centre front end system since you are over in England. That software isn't popular in the United States at all. So in what software are you trying to make changes in?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    J. King

  5. Likes chrisleng liked this post
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Well, the UC32 sends out emails when things trip, i'd like to edit the SMTP settings but am not sure what software that'd be in or how to edit it,

    Thank you

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Hi did you have any ideas on this or are we stuck working around it do you think? Thanks

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,051
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisleng View Post
    Hi did you have any ideas on this or are we stuck working around it do you think? Thanks
    I would assume there would be a menu that allows you to define the email settings. It would be called something like email preferences or SMTP setup. To me it sounds like you are using Cylon Command Centre as your front end. Those systems are almost unheard of here in the USA. So I can't speak to the exact details of how to do this in that particular front end. Have you tried calling technical support?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    J. King

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    After a lot more reading I think I have to download the programmed settings from the controller, edit and upload back, I think I might just get on the phone to tech support as I don't want any other settings getting changed!

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,051
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisleng View Post
    After a lot more reading I think I have to download the programmed settings from the controller, edit and upload back, I think I might just get on the phone to tech support as I don't want any other settings getting changed!
    I don't know which software you are working in, but be careful "downloading" in Unitron Engineering Centre. That actually takes the program from the back up, and puts it back into the controller. In order to assist you further, I would need more information. Maybe even pictures of what you have would be a start. Right now I am blind to what you are dealing with. You had mentioned that you have UC32 software, but UC32 is the part number for the field controllers. (UC32.24). Typically when it comes to something like what your dealing with, technical support can get you taken care of within a few minutes. They will even use TeamViewer to log into your system and provide assistance. Are you a Cylon contractor or a end user?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    J. King

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I'm an end user, who would you suggest for tech support, the company that installed it wanted a purchase order even for team-viewer for what is like you say about a 3 minute fix, we don't have a maintenance contract with them or anything so we could probably use whoever

    ok, I probably need to press upload to get the settings from the controller to the "Unitron Engineering Centre" that's the name of the software we have, and a few other unitron things, the thing I called UC32 is just the name of the layout saved in CCView I think, sorry for the confusion

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.