Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Career advice requested. Making the move from residential to commercial.

I have been a service tech in South Florida for the last three years. My company does light commercial and residential PM service install and construction. I want to move up to chillers and cooling towers. I have an interview coming up and I would like to know what to expect from some of the Techs who have been in this situation before. I know that I'm going to be green all over again? Suggestions and advice requested from my colleagues.

Post Likes
    Experience as much or as many different aspects of HVAC as you can. So you can figure out what it is you want to do.

There are good and bad situations in any HVAC Career paths you wish to take. You can make a very good living in any aspect of HVAC as long as you are willing to work at it.

Residential and light commercial is many times feast or famine and dependent on heating & cooling seasons. Commercial is more steady work with very few slow times. Commercial will add new information and skills to what you have to offer a customer or employer. There are many jobs on the resi side that can wait until tomorrow or even Monday (I want the weekend off!). Commercial you may get a call the process is down and the business is loosing lot's of revenue per day or hour. They want you there now and stay until it's back on line. The cost of travel and overtime is small compared to how much they are loosing. Refrigeration is similar to commercial (but dirtier) on a smaller scale. Loss of a process chiller I've seen cost $500K per day. But I've also seen a restraunt throw away $50K worth of meat because it got to 40F when the walkin failed.

Good Luck

3. Likes VTP99 liked this post
    Post Likes