Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 18

Thread: Trane PCM/UPCM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,925

    Trane PCM/UPCM

    I have a Trane board M#BMTU. I tried getting some info off of Webcats and couldnt cross even with serial number and Comfortsite is having problems tonight. Anyway I have one of these boards on an air handler and I'm having some problems. Job is a mix of Tracer/Summit. I checked the local BCU and didnt really see any relevant information to the PCM. I want to plug into the controller and check it out but what do I need? Will Rover work? Do I have to use PCM edit? Any and all help is appreciated.
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Where it's dark & damp
    Posts
    609
    You will need PCM edit. PCM edit software is built into the Summit software and can be used to access the pcm from the front end.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,925
    Can I install a copy on a XP Pro laptop and plug into it locally?
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Where it's dark & damp
    Posts
    609
    Yes, will run on XP. You'll need a serial port and a cable.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    I think a BMTU is a UPCM which would require UPCM edit. What type of problems are you having?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,925
    I have an airhandler getting a start command but not a frequency ref from this board. After a few minutes the start command cuts off, about 60 seconds go by and it comes back. I need to plug into the controller and see what is going on but have never had to plug into one yet.

    I have all the cables, etc., and should have the software laying around the shop just looking for guidance on exactly what I need to do or use. Comfortsite was back up this morning so I downloaded most of the PCM/UPCM manuals.
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    I have this program new in the envelope... Would like to sell it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,925
    Quote Originally Posted by sysint View Post
    I have this program new in the envelope... Would like to sell it.
    I probably have a copy at the shop.
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    Do a search on how to connect and upload the controller. I believe that myself as well as a couple others have posted the steps to connect and upload.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    731
    I will be happy to deliver you a step by step on how to troubleshoot this problem if you can ship a 30-pack to my door step. If not i would recommend getting someone out there who already knows the software.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,925
    Quote Originally Posted by scrooloose View Post
    I will be happy to deliver you a step by step on how to troubleshoot this problem if you can ship a 30-pack to my door step. If not i would recommend getting someone out there who already knows the software.
    30 Pack of what kind
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    3,925
    Well I found my software this week but wont make it out there this week.

    Would it be easier to look at this through the Summit computer instead of direct connecting?
    Quote Originally Posted by MatrixTransform View Post
    very soon it is you that will be pwned

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    184
    Well you can connect through Tracer Summit but it is a lot slower than locally connecting right at the UPCM.

    Typically a UPCM upload over a modem takes about 45-50 minutes. Connected over the LAN to the Summit might be about 25-30. Locally connecting at the UCPM would be 5-10 minutes.

    So that is your option. I always locally connect if it is feasable to do so.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event