Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 27
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    central america
    Posts
    157
    Mrmjmoore,
    your filter is making the temperature rise thru the heat exchanger higher. to high for the furnace to stay on, your are reaching the high limit when the furnace shuts down the burner, and the blower continues to run to cool it. when the limit cools the furnaces restarts the heating cycle. this is the stopping and starting you hear. this will eventually wear out alot of parts prematurely. A cheap filter{fiberglass} will help, but not fix this issue. Most cases require increasing the blower speed and lowering the gas pressure to the burnners. to lower the overall heat input. temperature rise is how you determine how much you need to lower the gas pressure to meet your air flow, with your endust{very restrictive} filter in place. You need to take accurate supply and return temps, find the temp rise rating on manufactures rating plate. make, model numbers , pics of furnace and ductwork. are also helpful...

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    Badtlc:
    The filters are a MERV 6.


    t527ed:
    It is a Honeywell CT8602.
    The whole unit shuts down. Nothing is running.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Gold Coast of Connecticut
    Posts
    4,656
    Remove the filter and see if that fixes it. If ot does call me and I will install a nice Honeywell 200 for you.
    Aire Serv of SW Connecticut- Gas heat, dual fuel and central a/c systems installed and serviced

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    What is a Honeywell 200?

    Also, don't I need some sort of filtration on the furnace??
    Won't removing the furnace leaving no filtration cause problems too?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    I haven't had a chance to have my installer/tech come out to take a look at the furnace....

    but I just wanted to ask another follow-up question...

    Does the situation I'm having, where the furnace is not running constantly before it reaches the thermostat set temperature, causing any damage to the furnace?
    The furnace is new (installed in January 2007) so I really want to avoid damaging the unit?

    Is it violating any sort of warranty terms?

    Thanks.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,759
    If its riding the high limit, yes.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    416

    Run with Cheapo Filter

    Yes, you should always run with filter. As a test you could run with no filter for a little bit, but what would be better is to run with the simple el-cheapo 99c filter to see if cycling goes away.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    22
    One programmable Honeywell t-stat will stop calling for heat 2*F below the set point........... then after a few minutes, kick the furnace back on for the last 2*F until the T-stat is satisfied. Only happens on cycles that require a larger rise in temperature. I don't remember which model this occurs with.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by t527ed View Post
    what type of thermostat?

    is whole unit shutting down like a normal cycle or does blower keep running?

    on a big recovery thermostat could be cycling furnace so it does not overshoot temp setting.
    follow up....

    I came home from work today.
    Wife had already turned up the thermostat to the usual 68 degrees. She said the temperature on the thermostat when she came home read 62 degrees. (I turned the thermostat down to 55 degrees when I left the hose this morning).
    I checked the thermostat. It read 66 degrees.
    I ran downstairs to check the furnace.
    It was off. completely off.....no blower....no nothing....and it hadn't yet reached the 68 degrees setting.
    It kicked back on a few minutes later and then went to 68 degrees.

    SO.....the furnace couldn't go from 62 degrees to 68 degrees without shutting down at least once.

    so.....since everyone says this is not proper operation (that is, the furnace should run constantly until it reaches the set temperature), I will be calling the installer tomorrow.

    i'll keep you posted.

    UGH!

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Fayetteville TN
    Posts
    656
    Anticipator/cycle rate?
    If You don't have time to do it right, when will you have the time to do it over?

    "Perception is Reality" Look & Act like a Professional

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    Well, I am gonna try and change the thermostat to see if that is the problem....

    but, even that is not a simple job.

    that saga is detailed here:

    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=234312

    ugh.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    I installed a new thermostat (Honeywell Focus Pro 600 #TH6110D1005) last night, but before I did I ran the furnace on the old Honeywell stat to see what happened...

    Here's what happened:

    Got home.
    Stat read 63 degree house temp.
    Set the heat at 73 degrees and furnace fired up.
    Took about 9 minutes to get to 64 degrees.
    Approximately 20 minutes later, with the temp at 66 degrees, furnace shut off.
    Blower ran for approximately 2:30 then the furnace was completely off.
    Furnace fired up approximately 2 minutes later.
    Furnace ran for approximately 29 minutes then turned off. Temp was 71 degrees.
    Blower ran for approximately 2 minutes then furnace was completely off.
    Furnace fired up about 1 minute 15 seconds later.
    Furnace ran for approximately 10 minutes and then turned off. Temp at 71 degrees.
    Blower ran for approximately 2 mim 30 seconds then furnace was completely off.
    Furnace fired back up approximately 1 minute later.
    73 degrees obtained some time later. (lost track of how long it ran to get from 71 degrees to 73.)

    Each time the furnace shut down, I went downstairs and checked the peephole on the furnace to see if the little red light was blinking any codes. It wasn't.

    So I then changed the stat and hopefully that will fix it. If not, then the installer will be coming out.

    anyone have any thoughts on my problem??

    thanks.
    mike

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    central america
    Posts
    157

    Hmm

    Quote Originally Posted by superheatrman View Post
    Mrmjmoore,
    your filter is making the temperature rise thru the heat exchanger higher. to high for the furnace to stay on, your are reaching the high limit when the furnace shuts down the burner, and the blower continues to run to cool it. when the limit cools the furnaces restarts the heating cycle. this is the stopping and starting you hear. this will eventually wear out alot of parts prematurely. A cheap filter{fiberglass} will help, but not fix this issue. Most cases require increasing the blower speed and lowering the gas pressure to the burnners. to lower the overall heat input. temperature rise is how you determine how much you need to lower the gas pressure to meet your air flow, with your endust{very restrictive} filter in place. You need to take accurate supply and return temps, find the temp rise rating on manufactures rating plate. make, model numbers , pics of furnace and ductwork. are also helpful...
    can you see the diagnostic light at all?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event