Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47

    Quick question regarding my Amana Propane furnace

    I have an Amana AMH95 (Model # AMH950703BX).
    Installed in January 2007.

    Just a quick question regarding its operation.

    If we go away for the weekend, I set the thermostat at 55 degrees.
    When I return home, I raise the setting to 68 degrees.
    The furnace will kick on.

    But, it doesn't run constantly until it has reached 68 degrees.
    Meaning it will run for a while, then kick off for a few minutes, then kick back on.

    So, my question is this:

    When the furnace is trying to get to the set temperature, should it run constantly until it gets to the set temperature or is it normal for the unit to cycle on/off occasionally as it is trying to reach the desired temperature?

    Thanks.
    mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,213
    Warm air flow may be affecting your t-stat temporarily. Then ambient falls, re-starting the furnace. Watch your stat next time. If this isn't happening, call a pro, as there are other issues.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Coming to a town near you soon
    Posts
    774
    It should run constant. Is your filter clean? If it is then you will need to call a service company to check the system. If it is not and it is clogged you are a bad person and you are abusing your HVAC system.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,901
    Twilli says furnaces get tired too
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,422
    Quote Originally Posted by Moose View Post
    Warm air flow may be affecting your t-stat temporarily. Then ambient falls, re-starting the furnace.
    are you kidding?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    central america
    Posts
    157

    Hmm

    Turn your thermostat to 90f, the burner, and blower should not stop till it reaches 90f. If it is, the unit is probably cycling on the high limit switch... The temperature rise thru the furnace can be measured. supply temp-return air temp. Your unit has listed temp. rise on rating plate inside the furnace... Usally 40-70f..You are more the likely above that.. you need to increase air flow, or reduce heat input..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,213
    Tinner... not kidding - seen it & fixed it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,422
    was stat over a supply grille?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,213
    Too close

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    Tinner --
    Thermostat is not near a supply grill. It is located in the hallway.
    The return is in the ceiling above it.

    superheatrman --
    thanks for the tip.....that's way beyond my knowledge.
    i will let my service guy know...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    47
    superheatman --

    Still having the problem. Thermostat was 59 degrees when I got home from work yesterday. Turned it up to 68 degrees. Furnace kicked on.
    I didnt keep exact track of what temp or how long it went before it kicked off (I need to though...), but it defintely kicked off for a few minutes at least once before it reached 68 degrees.

    you said i possibly need to increase air flow.....
    Could my filter be causing the problem?
    I have a 1" filter. 16x25x1
    It is the Endust filters from Lowes.
    I just changed it a few weeks ago.

    This unit is only 2 years old........I hope this cycling is not damaging the unit.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmichaeljmoore View Post
    you said i possibly need to increase air flow.....
    Could my filter be causing the problem?
    I have a 1" filter. 16x25x1
    It is the Endust filters from Lowes.
    I just changed it a few weeks ago.

    This unit is only 2 years old........I hope this cycling is not damaging the unit.
    What MERV rating are those filters? If the filter is too restrictive, and you dont have an ECM blower motor, the heat exchanger could be starved for air flow. This would mean there is not enough air extracting heat from the heat exchanger and it is getting too hot. This would cause the unit to shutdown due to high temp limit until it cools off. Increasing the air flow with a less restrictive filter could potentially resolve the situation if that is the problem.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,699
    what type of thermostat?

    is whole unit shutting down like a normal cycle or does blower keep running?

    on a big recovery thermostat could be cycling furnace so it does not overshoot temp setting.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event