Thread: HELP with Trane XR80 fault codes -NOT DIY!!!

Post Likes

HELP with Trane XR80 fault codes -NOT DIY!!!

This is NOT a DIY question. I am a professional contractor C.E.T. (Canada, Certified Engineering Technologist). I just don't have these Trane codes in my back pocket and the local Trane distributor is closed today. Probably getting ready for the Super Bowl.

Need help with the fault codes for a Trane XR80, specifically code 21. This furnace is in the home of an older relative and I don't want them to remove the blower door to read the codes in case they don't get it back on properly before I get there.
    Quick reply to this message Reply  

Post Likes
    There are several models called XR80. I don't see any code 21 in the one I looked at. Get your post count up and apply for pro status. Then you will get better answers.
    Remember, Air Conditioning begins with AIR.

Post Likes
    I thought the basic description of the codes were printed on the wiring diagram inside the service door on the furnace.

That board might be manufacturer by White Rodgers (my XV80 is). On my Carrier Weathermaker I used to have, I think 21 was either flame roll-out or flame sensor fault or it was a pressure switch or auxillary dafety switch fault.

I found the fault codes we of limited use because what might be a pressure switch could also be a bad board a blocked flue or a problem with the ID fan.

But that's just my expereince troubleshooting my old furnace and I'm not a pro, so take it with a gran of salt. Althouhg I work on and troubleshoot industrial equipment and control systems, but not as a service tech.

I wouldn't get too hung up on the fault code. I suspect HVAC techs were troubleshooting furnaces that just used relay logic only long before they had a little red LED.

Post Likes
    There are no codes like that for that furnace.Hope this helps.
    2 flashes-Systemm lock out
    3 flashes-Pressure switch stuck open or closed