Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    HELP with Trane XR80 fault codes -NOT DIY!!!

    This is NOT a DIY question. I am a professional contractor C.E.T. (Canada, Certified Engineering Technologist). I just don't have these Trane codes in my back pocket and the local Trane distributor is closed today. Probably getting ready for the Super Bowl.

    Need help with the fault codes for a Trane XR80, specifically code 21. This furnace is in the home of an older relative and I don't want them to remove the blower door to read the codes in case they don't get it back on properly before I get there.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,919
    There are several models called XR80. I don't see any code 21 in the one I looked at. Get your post count up and apply for pro status. Then you will get better answers.
    Remember, Air Conditioning begins with AIR.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    I thought the basic description of the codes were printed on the wiring diagram inside the service door on the furnace.

    That board might be manufacturer by White Rodgers (my XV80 is). On my Carrier Weathermaker I used to have, I think 21 was either flame roll-out or flame sensor fault or it was a pressure switch or auxillary dafety switch fault.

    I found the fault codes we of limited use because what might be a pressure switch could also be a bad board a blocked flue or a problem with the ID fan.

    But that's just my expereince troubleshooting my old furnace and I'm not a pro, so take it with a gran of salt. Althouhg I work on and troubleshoot industrial equipment and control systems, but not as a service tech.

    I wouldn't get too hung up on the fault code. I suspect HVAC techs were troubleshooting furnaces that just used relay logic only long before they had a little red LED.

  4. #4
    There are no codes like that for that furnace.Hope this helps.
    2 flashes-Systemm lock out
    3 flashes-Pressure switch stuck open or closed
    4 flashes-Open high temp. limit switch
    5 flashes-Flame sensed without gas valve
    6 flashes-115 volt polarity reversed
    7 flashes-Gas valve circuit error
    8 flashes-Low milivolt signal at flame sensing rod

  5. #5
    Thanks for your reply. From your list of codes, it sounds like he probably meant code 3 rather than codes 2 and 1.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by kenkenwell View Post
    This is NOT a DIY question. I am a professional contractor C.E.T. (Canada, Certified Engineering Technologist). I just don't have these Trane codes in my back pocket and the local Trane distributor is closed today. Probably getting ready for the Super Bowl.

    Need help with the fault codes for a Trane XR80, specifically code 21. This furnace is in the home of an older relative and I don't want them to remove the blower door to read the codes in case they don't get it back on properly before I get there.
    how'd ya get a code 21

    isn't there just an LED light that blinks, if so it aint gonna be 21 blinks!



    .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4

    TRANE XR80 Furnace

    3- Red Light Flashes. - Pressure Switch Error.
    I am having a hard time finding any information on further trouble-shooting this problem.
    Do you guys have any hints ?

    Thanks ahead of time.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    Quote Originally Posted by fieldhb View Post
    3- Red Light Flashes. - Pressure Switch Error.
    I am having a hard time finding any information on further trouble-shooting this problem.
    Do you guys have any hints ?

    Thanks ahead of time.
    Call a pro before you hurt yourself or your family.
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,717
    Quote Originally Posted by fieldhb View Post
    3- Red Light Flashes. - Pressure Switch Error.
    I am having a hard time finding any information on further trouble-shooting this problem.
    Do you guys have any hints ?

    Thanks ahead of time.
    Sorry, this is not a DIY site.
    Please read Site Rules


    Thread closed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event