Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thumbs up Commercial Food Equipment Tech Workload

Hello,

I am a commercial refrigeration tech and I have often wondered what kind of workload you food equipment techs have.......do you guys stay busy throughout the year? Just curious because I gave thought to applying to company that does refrigeration and food equipment service.

Look forward to your thoughts.

tis quiet at the moment but usually I work 45 to 50 hrs. a week through out the year. I think everyone is slow right now.

I work for an installation company. Installation is slow, so start-ups aren't there right now. I am still busy. They try to keep OT to a minimum all year, but the only time I did not get OT in the last 2 years was nov and dec
    If the superheat ain't right it ain't charged right.

I have been wondering the same thing.

The company I work for advertises refrigeration, HVAC, and food equipment. We do mainly refrigeration. And we are slowin up pretty good now....

I have been lookin into the food equipment stuff for maybe some good classes but nothin in this area....
    I fully support the military and the War on Terrorism.

If you don't know, then don't do. If you don't know and still do, then be prepared to pay someone else a lot to undo what you did and then do it right.

If you do know, then do. But do it right. Otherwise, you may not be doing it long.

Quote Originally Posted by iraqveteran View Post
    I have been lookin into the food equipment stuff for maybe some good classes but nothin in this area....
    Food service is easy. A furnace is a furnace, whether it is heating your house or baking your bread. There is a knob on most thermostats for calibration. There are many specialty safeties, but if you understand the dangers the safeties are common sense.

Then there is tech support. The important thing to remember there: if the guy on the line is not helpful, find a polite reason to hang up and call back. You might get a better techie.