Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Looking for my first job.

Hello, my name is Chris and today I have begun my job search. I graduated from school in December 2008, and I got my EPA (Universal) and ICE (Commercial) certifications. I already posted my resume on two well known job finder websites. So now I wanted to come here and ask some questions about finding a job.

The problem is I never had a job in the HVAC field so I have no experience and I only have my Associates degree to fall back on. Since I never searched for a job before I am not finding jobs in my field so easily. Either the job wants experience which I don't have or the job isn't really HVAC related, for example they expect their employees to do odd jobs like painting, plumbing, drywalling, etc.

I would like to be in the Commercial aspect of HVAC Industry, working in a building. It has to be something entry level where they would train me until I gain experience. I live in Pennsylvania (I am less than 10 miles from New Jersey and about 20 miles from New York) but I would prefer to work in Northern New Jersey for the better pay/opportunity. My school is helping me find a job also but they are in New York, so I might be waiting awhile until they find me a job. However the invited me to a job fair in New York this February.

So if anyone can help me and share some information with me I would be grateful. I need to know where I can find a job that will accept me with my experience and train me further. Tell me everything I need to know in finding a job in this field. Thanks your time.

there are jobs out there however with this economy there are also a lot of tech's/mechanics laid off and they also want to find work tommorow.As you probably witnessed