Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    1,423
    Post Likes

    Phase to ground v Phase to Phase voltage on 208/230V 3 at disconnect

    What voltages should you expect on a 208/230V 3?

    I am working on a walk in freezer at a KFC. While I was on the roof, I kept hearing a compressor for one of the coolers try to start. It would start, run about 2 seconds and then stop.

    The KFC manager told me that they have had several breakers trip in the last week.

    So, I checked the voltage into the disconnect for the cooler condenser that was short cycling.

    I was only using a Fluke T5 voltage tester at the time.

    Phase to ground: 121/122/121
    Phase to phase: 213/211/213

    I would have expected to have phase to phase readings more like 244V.

    Any thoughts for me?
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    3,963
    Post Likes
    Amp draw over what it is rated at, voltage drop off when starting, loose wiring to breakers. Could be many issues
    UA Local 32

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12,748
    Post Likes
    On a Delta Wye service you'll most likely see closer to 208 voltage.
    Around here 230 voltage comes from a Delta service.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    1,423
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    On a Delta Wye service you'll most likely see closer to 208 voltage.
    Around here 230 voltage comes from a Delta service.
    I'll need to check with Valley Electric to find out if it is Delta wye service.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12,748
    Post Likes
    Just look at the service coming in to the building. 3 wire w/ ground or 4 wire w/ground. If the latter the forth wire will be the neutral.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    859
    Post Likes
    did you amp compressor and gauge up to system ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    1,423
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by buford View Post
    Amp draw over what it is rated at, voltage drop off when starting, loose wiring to breakers. Could be many issues

    I had the disconnect off to the unit while testing. I did find several wire nuts on the unit I was working with corroded conductors underneath. Many nuts were facing down allowing condensation to accumulate in the nuts.

    Here is a picture of the disconnect interior of the one I was working on. Notice the red nut that was touching the panel front.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northern NV
    Posts
    782
    Post Likes
    If all three lines to ground/neutral are in the 120V range, then you have a "Y" service coming in and the phase to phase voltage should be 208VAV or within 10%... Your seems kinda high, so I doubt that it would be an issue starting a 3phase compressor as higher V is less A

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northern NV
    Posts
    782
    Post Likes
    If it were a Delta service, the phase to phase would be in the neighborhood o 240VAC and two of the line to neutrals would be 120VAV and one "wild leg" would be about 208VAC. Delta generally found in more industrial applications with a lot of 3 phase loads and not much in the 120V...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    1,423
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by northeastbeast View Post
    did you amp compressor and gauge up to system ?
    No, I didn't have authorization to work on that unit.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    1,423
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    Just look at the service coming in to the building. 3 wire w/ ground or 4 wire w/ground. If the latter the forth wire will be the neutral.
    Three phase Wye makes a lot of sense now. Looking at the picture of the disconnect that I posted, the white wires under the broken wire nut appear to be the neutral.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    1,423
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Madera View Post
    If all three lines to ground/neutral are in the 120V range, then you have a "Y" service coming in and the phase to phase voltage should be 208VAV or within 10%... Your seems kinda high, so I doubt that it would be an issue starting a 3phase compressor as higher V is less A

    Almost all of our voltages here are on the high side. We regularly measure 248V on 240V single phase residential circuits. In a couple of sections of town we get 254V readings.
    It's an upside down world we live in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.