Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 36
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551

    Variable speed fan in "on" mode power consumption....

    The literature for my furnace says the variable speed fan in the "on" mode (when not in a call for heat or cool) should consume about the same amount of power as a 75-watt light bulb. Mine is currently pulling about 144-watts in the "on" mode and about 480-watts at 1210 CFM. Do these values seem excessive at all or a sign of possible high static pressure?

    Anyone familiar with variable speed power consumption numbers?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    MEDIA PA
    Posts
    1,382

    What

    type of furnace do you have

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Amana AMV8. I think it is the same GE ECM like almost all other variable speed furnaces.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    581
    Quote Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
    The literature for my furnace says the variable speed fan in the "on" mode (when not in a call for heat or cool) should consume about the same amount of power as a 75-watt light bulb. Mine is currently pulling about 144-watts in the "on" mode and about 480-watts at 1210 CFM. Do these values seem excessive at all or a sign of possible high static pressure?

    Anyone familiar with variable speed power consumption numbers?
    My 100K BTU XV95 pulls 96 watts at 640 CFM in "fan only" at 0.25 total ESP.
    it pulls 258 watts in heat mode at 1008 CFM @ 0.49 ESP
    It pulls 405 watts in fan-only mode at 1285 CFM @ .71 esp.
    it pulls 365 watts in heat mode at 1184 CFM mode at 0.64 esp.

    The high esp at higher airflow is directly related to my smallish 5" ducts going up the wall stack

    Key1
    In the land of the blind.....the man with one eye is king....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
    My 100K BTU XV95 pulls 96 watts at 640 CFM in "fan only" at 0.25 total ESP.
    it pulls 258 watts in heat mode at 1008 CFM @ 0.49 ESP
    It pulls 405 watts in fan-only mode at 1184 CFM @ .71 esp.
    it pulls 365 watts in heat mode at 0.64 esp.

    The high esp at higher airflow is directly related to my smallish 5" ducts going up the stack

    Key1
    It looks like my numbers are close to yours when getting near 1200CFM. I think my AMV8 is around 593 CFM on fan only, so that leads me to think I do have a higher static pressure.

    Do you have a 4" filter in your system?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    581
    I edited my data to correct it as my memory is not what it use to be. I looked in my log book to verify. Take another look at my post
    Key1
    In the land of the blind.....the man with one eye is king....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    581
    Quote Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
    .

    Do you have a 4" filter in your system?
    I have a 5" media filter

    Key1
    In the land of the blind.....the man with one eye is king....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
    I have a 5" media filter

    Key1
    I wonder if that is enough to make up the difference? I'm running 16x25x1 filter. I can't do the cheap fiberglass filters due to allergies but I'm not using a highly restrictive Merv11 filter either.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,174
    Key1cc can come over and check your static for you.

    He'll only charge you for gas.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    581
    Quote Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
    I wonder if that is enough to make up the difference? I'm running 16x25x1 filter. I can't do the cheap fiberglass filters due to allergies but I'm not using a highly restrictive Merv11 filter either.
    You may be suprised how restrictive some 1" filters can be. I tested the merv-7 filteraire filters from ace hardware (similar to merv-8 3-pack from home depot) and got pressure drops of 0.27 (before I installed my 5" media filter).

    I highly reccomend checking your static (or having it checked), it's very easy with the right tool. .

    Now are you located in Kansas City Missouri or Kansas City, Kansas. Either way Beenthere it's a shorter drive for you.

    Key1
    In the land of the blind.....the man with one eye is king....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    What pressure drop did you see after you installed the 5" filter?

    I can always get one of my mechanical engineers at work to do it, or I guess I could try myself. We have the equipment. I'm just too lazy, I guess.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,174
    True.

    I could leave Friday night, and be back in time for Monday morning.

    But, I charge drive time and over time.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leavenworth KS
    Posts
    309
    I could leave at 8 and be back by noon.

    Did by any chance did Moore's install your furnace?

    Our standard install uses a 20x25x5 pleated filter.
    Mike

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event