Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

economizer capabilities for server room

The economizer is a little confusing. I am looking for any information to clarify the purpose and capabilities of these units. I am an Hvac tech from the residential installer upbringing but have since become more and more involved with troubleshooting and controls in the comercial side of hvac. I have done one year of hvacr tech school and am EPA universal. I am into my 10th year now.

My goal is to cool the server room with the economizer when the outside tempurature drops below 20* F while simultaniously shuting the 1st and 2nd stage of mechanical cooling off. I think I would like it to work as a stage of cooling but with exceptions.

I have a trane voyager 7 ton package unit 2 stage cooling with economizer and power exhaust as the primary mode of cooling this space. With three mitsubishi mini splits as backup. But with server room expansion the mini splits are curently runing 70% - 100% depending on outdoor temperatures. And the 7 ton is runing 90% - 100% 24/7. There is also an emergency back up from a 40 ton Trane intellipak that is ducted into the existing duct work of the 7 ton unit and is controlled by a DMS system, as is the 7 ton unit.

Thank you for your time.

Internala/c

Be very careful with this - I agree with your basic logic however further considerations must be made and I am no expert in server rooms.
    What is controlling the humidity in this room?
    What is your 'average' outdoor humidity during the months/weeks of 20 degree weather? You must realize humidity levels are very important in server rooms and with an economizer in use you can really adversely effect the humidity control.
    If the 7 ton has an economizer on it already does it work or has it ever been used in the past?