Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    636

    How many things can you do wrong on a furnace installation?

    First, a propane tank. And no, the furnace was not originally converted for propane use. I got a call because "the manual reset switch keeps tripping".



    The installation:



    This wire has been heated a lot.



    Where is our combustion air?



    Why is there so much soot?



    These are natural gas/sea level orifices. Should have been 56's per manufacturer specs.



    What is the static pressure of the BURNER COMPARTMENT?
    This is because there is a 5-ton blower and a 16x20" Return filter.
    Also, because the return is not sealed off from the combustion area.



    The rollout switch trips almost immediately.




    And there has obviously been a history of heat where there should not be.

    This is what happens when I take photos of things OTHER than bad A/C installations:
    Arizona. Photographed: http://community.webshots.com/album/563042864aIFjqw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,948
    Ahhh!...UEI.
    Behind the ostensible government sits enthroned an invisible government owing no allegiance and acknowledging no responsibility to the people.

    Theodore Roosevelt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    636
    No combustion air and combustion area under negative pressure.
    Flames will reach back into the burner compartment.
    Originally not converted for Propane (ran all last winter). Recently someone converted it.
    Rollout switch trips almost immediately when blower comes on.
    Whoever converted the furnace (as a repair) obviously did not check the heat exchanger, and left it like this for the customer to use.
    This is what happens when I take photos of things OTHER than bad A/C installations:
    Arizona. Photographed: http://community.webshots.com/album/563042864aIFjqw

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    523
    i love the custom heat shield that kept the flames from rolling out the front of the furnace

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Central CA
    Posts
    567
    Im a newb so go easy on me.
    Is that a rollout switch integrated to the fuel line?
    If not what is it?
    If so how does it work intergrated to the fuel line?
    Or is it just fastened to it?
    Iv never seen anything like that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Olean, NY
    Posts
    1,449
    I've never seen that switch either

    I think the installation is fine. Not all installs can be perfect and I can't believe some lazy H.O. would waste their money on an overpriced tech just because they don't have the energy to stand up and reset the rollout. Crazy.
    Guinness for strength

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    636

    Well it's a low voltage safety switch in series with all the other low voltage safeties. What it does exactly and why it was installed are some of the questions I have about this mess. It was installed by the second company who reset the rollout safety for the homeowner while they were changing the gas flex that was piped straight to the valve to hard pipe to the exterior of the cabinet. At the same time they charged the customer for a "Fuel Plus Pressure" switch on their invoice. It did not come with the furnace. It was installed 2 years after the furnace was installed.
    This is what happens when I take photos of things OTHER than bad A/C installations:
    Arizona. Photographed: http://community.webshots.com/album/563042864aIFjqw

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    125
    That switch is supposed to stop the furnace from running if the Propane pressure drops too low. They come with some brand furnaces' conversion kits and just go in series with the low voltage safeties.
    Customer: "I have a problem with my (Non-Descript Heating Appliance). It's really old (somewhere from 3 to 120 Years?) and it used to make a (insert noise here) and now it makes a (insert new noise here). Is that common with (Non-Descript Heating Appliance)'s ? "

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    central america
    Posts
    157
    That switch, on gas line, low gas pressure, keeps furnace from sooting up, if customer runs lp tank empty. It appears this one is sooted up. needs heat-x removed and washed...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    416

    I think I know

    I think that I know the brand....ICP right???? That is a low pressure switch, it shuts the furnace down when the propane pressure falls. It comes in the LP conversion kits.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    197
    The main problem I see in the pics is that its a Heil furnace.
    Any fool can know. The point is to understand. Albert Einstein

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    central america
    Posts
    157
    you dont like heil or icp?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    197
    Quote Originally Posted by superheatrman View Post
    you dont like heil or icp?
    Not that I dislike them. They are easy to work on and are just as good as any other furnace in the market.
    Only issue is that their H/X crack on the oil + gas furnaces.
    Any fool can know. The point is to understand. Albert Einstein

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event