Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    71

    Configuring Aerco Modbus on a Jace.

    I am trying to interface with a Aerco ACS Boiler control panel to a FX30, using Modbus.
    Does anyone have a cutsheet or can step me thru on how to set up the controller perameters in workbench.

    Thanks.
    Knowledge is money - Ignorance is expensive!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,763
    Did a few of them and they where pretty straight forward. Here is the register list and manual.

    C-More..... Every time I see that I picture Homer Simpson saying "Cmore, butts".
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    71
    Thanks for your reply.
    I was able to send a ping to the ACS, however it did not reply.
    The question I have now is that the ACS is a master and controls two boilers. The jace is set up as a master as well, is this an issue?
    I double checked the wiring, addresses, baud rate...
    Anything else?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,763
    Off memory, you need to turn on modbus (+ pass-thru if you want to talk to the boilers) in the Aerco panel.

    Aerco is slave, jace master. We used the RS-232 port and not the 485 network between the Aerco panel and the boilers. Pretty sure you cannot sit on that buss. They have a fieldserver and/or 232-485 converter, didn't mess with either. Straight to their panel.
    Last edited by orion242; 12-10-2014 at 11:00 PM.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    71
    As per spec, I used a RS-232 to RS-245 converter. It sits on a separate bus then the boilers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    936
    I dug this up from tech support a few years ago.....
    ---------------------
    Purchase the B&B Converter with associated power adapter.

    Port Powered RS-232 to RS-485 Converter (Part Number 485SD9TB)
    12VDC@100mA Power Supply, Wall transformer (Part Number 485PS2)
    http://www.bb-elec.com/product.asp?sku=485SD9TB

    Power the 485SD9TB B&B converter with +12 VDC (Terminal Block pins 4 and 5). Pin 5 is +12 VDC and pin 4 is GND.

    The Jace RS-485 port is connected to converter (Terminal Block pins 1 and 2). Data(B)+ pin 2 connects to UNC RS-485 + and Data(A)- pin 1 connects to Jace RS-485 -.

    The DB-9 connector on the converter is a DB-9 female. Connect wires from the DB-9 connector to the JP12 RS-232 port at the bottom of the BMS panel.

    BMS JP12 (Left to Right) Converter DB-9F
    Pin 1 Not Used
    Pin 2 (RxD) Pin 2 (RD) receiving data from the from the converter
    Pin 3 (TxD) Pin 3 (TD) transmitting data to the converter
    Pin 4 (GND) Pin 5 (GND)

    Setup the Modbus through the BMS keypad / display per the Aerco GF-114 manual. BMS typically configured as 9600 baud, 8, 1, none, RTU). The Modbus device address typically defaults to address 128.

    BMS panel Rev K or higher supports Modbus.
    BMS II panel - all versions support Modbus.

    Add ModbusAsyncService
    Setup Comm properties to the desired UNC communications port
    Setup baud, etc. and RS-485 mode to true

    Add ModbusAsyncNetwork
    Add ModbusAsyncDevice under the network container

    Setup General Config properties
    deviceAddress - 128

    Setup Device Status properties
    deviceStatusMonitorAddress - Modbus 30002
    dataType - Integer
    RegType - Input

    You will have to save and reboot for the COM port to become active. After the restart, the port should start to ping the device (transmit LED).

    Add ModbusGenericAI under the Modbus device
    Setup Config properties
    dataAddress - Modbus 30002
    regType - Input
    dataType - Integer
    numberDataPoints - 1

    Connect input of standard Analog Input object to the reg1 output. The value should read the Header Temperature value.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hells Kitchen, Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    339
    The 485 side is the boilers, the 232 through the 485 converter(that is powered off the acs 12vdc) would go to their protonode...you need to enter pw of 6817 and set the acs to network and enable mod bus pass through if you want to talk to the boilers. The boilers need to be connected to the 485 port + to + and - to -, shields tied together but not landed at the boilers but landed at the acs. You also need the end of line enabled on the back side c-more board there are 4 little dip switches 2 are bias one is term...I enable the bias in the acs. It's two little toggle switches that need to point towards the wall right above the terminals in the center.

    set addresses in the boilers, set number of network boilers in the acs, leave max network boilers set to 0 as it doesn't mean what it seems like it should.

    This is basically the process from the beginning to end as far as the boilers are concerned. I have been through master aerco class and work on these everyday. Feel free to pm me if needed.
    "If history repeats itself I am so getting a dinosaur"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,763
    Here is how I have a basic one setup.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event