To Unionize or Not To Unionize
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

To Unionize or Not To Unionize

Hello everyone, though I am new to the forum, I've read here and there over the past year. I decided to become a member because this site seems like it will be a pretty valuable tool in the near future.

I graduated from an accredited HVAC School yesterday (10 month course) and I plan to begin an extensive job search after Christmas. My goal, obviously, is to find the best job that I can that offers a lot of future oppertunities... I've been led to believe that a union can help me do just that.

Is there anyone here that is a member of a Pipefitters Union in Ohio?
    I'd like to know:

1. How long the apprenticeship would be?
    2. Will my past schooling count towards the length of my apprenticeship?
    3. What is the typical pay-scale of an apprentice?
    4. If I become a member of the union, where does my insurance and retirement come from after I retire?

I know the best way to get information is to call my local hall, but I want to know something about what I might be getting into before I actually talk to anyone. So, ANY input would be great, even if you aren't in my area (Cols., Oh) and even if you don't answer these specific questions. I tried researching my local unions online, but it is very difficult to find any information.

P.S.
    What's a 'scab'?
    What's 'blackballed'?
    And what's an 'FMN'?

Your apprenticeship is 5 years typically. Mine involved 2 nights a week schooling plus a miniumum amount of on-the-job.

Prior education means squat. Job experience MIGHT.

Our apprentices start at 35% of journeyman rate. Ballpark $10 or so.

Not retired by a long shot, so I don't know.

Scabs are non-union workers. Typically those brought in to fill in when the union strikes.

Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Your apprenticeship is 5 years typically. Mine involved 2 nights a week schooling plus a miniumum amount of on-the-job.