Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Best/Easiest System to Get Raw Temp Data into SQL Database?

Hello, I have a background in software, but I'm a newbie at HVAC control systems. My current mission at work is to select/purchase/install a set of temperature sensors, collect the data in (near) real-time, and insert it into a SQL database. The data will later be displayed as a new object on the company's Business Intelligence portal, and have alerts that go off based on temp thresholds (..but that is a different beast).

What I'd like to ask is if anyone could please recommend a good starter system that could be deployed to a relatively small department area (8 room sensors) at first, but then be scaled out to around 100 sensors if/when this project gets deployed to the whole company? The most important factor for me is that the data comes into the server in some kind of 'open' format that I can pick up and read using custom code. If there were some kind of widows ODBC connector to SQL Server '08, then that would be ideal, but I'd be happy even if the device could output plain text delimited files.

If anyone has done a project similar to this, I'd love to talk with you and get some feedback on the approach I'm taking. Also I'd be willing to trade some help getting your data to display nicely on a BI dashboard in exchange for some help getting the raw data in on my end.

Thanks!

- Tyler

It sounds like you might have to make a substantial investment to collect just input data. Many control systems that use web servers are based on XML. My guess is that you can write code to bring the data into your SQL database. The problem is that you will probably have to buy a lot of 'Input' modules to do your project. That can be a little expensive if that is all that you are doing. When all that data is incorporated into a full blown control system it is easier to justify the cost.

Matrikon OPC has some pretty good products that might help you get started...