Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,903

    Thermal Vac Gauge Question

    I have recently found a Thermal micron gauge in the back of our shop.I believe it came from a sale we went to a few years ago.Well to start with it would not calibrate,so I went and order a sensor for it (model# 4510) which was what it had with it.Now it will calibrate,but when I hooked it to a vac pump no go.It slowly goes to atmospheric pressure and I have my other 2 YJ micron gauges on the same pump and they are reading the samething. What am I doing wrong?The model# of it is 14500
    Look to the past to learn;look forward to live.

    Coach Dean E. Smith

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,561
    If all three micron gauges are reading atmospheric, then either the pump isn't pumping, or you have a big leak. Hook up your low-side compound gauge directly to the pump. It should pull down to 29" almost instantly even with a 36" hose. This is a good "go - no go" test. If the pump is OK, then you must have a BIG leak if the micron gauges don't pull down at all.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,903
    Quote Originally Posted by snewman24 View Post
    If all three micron gauges are reading atmospheric, then either the pump isn't pumping, or you have a big leak. Hook up your low-side compound gauge directly to the pump. It should pull down to 29" almost instantly even with a 36" hose. This is a good "go - no go" test. If the pump is OK, then you must have a BIG leak if the micron gauges don't pull down at all.
    I am sorry,I must not have explained it clear.

    The 2 YJ micron gauges are reading that it is under a vaccum,while the Thermal one is reading at atmospheric.I have all of them hooked to a titan manifold,and the 3/8" is hooked to the pump.And the gauges are showing a vac,so I know the pump is working.Any thoughts?
    Look to the past to learn;look forward to live.

    Coach Dean E. Smith

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    there should be a number on the sensor you have to program, if it is a different calibration number than the original sensor
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrL_Brann View Post
    I am sorry,I must not have explained it clear.

    The 2 YJ micron gauges are reading that it is under a vaccum,while the Thermal one is reading at atmospheric.I have all of them hooked to a titan manifold,and the 3/8" is hooked to the pump.And the gauges are showing a vac,so I know the pump is working.Any thoughts?
    If the sensor is new and assumed to be good, then it must be in the meter circuitry somewhere. I don't see the 14500 calibration instructions listed on Thermal Engineering's site but I'll bet the other models are similar. It will probably help you to troubleshoot the problem by looking at the other calibration instructions. You'll need the right resistor and an accurate milliameter. That's how I calibrated my model 4501.

    http://www.thermalengineeringcompany...cfm?p=28&pp=15

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,903
    It will calibrate but won't work in read mode.Thats for the link snew
    Look to the past to learn;look forward to live.

    Coach Dean E. Smith

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrL_Brann View Post
    It will calibrate but won't work in read mode.Thats for the link snew
    The "calibration" you're talking about is just adjusting the calibration knob to match the calibaration value on the sensor (i.e. 31.5 or whatever) in calibration mode. If you'll take time to read the factory calibration instructions, you'll see that it's a more in depth calibration procedure in READ mode. I don't think your problem is actually a calibration (accuracy) problem since you don't get any vacuum reading at all. I think you have a bad component or a bad connection, but the calibration process will give you a feel for how the micron gauge works.
    I think if you take it apart and "play" with it you will find what's wrong (just don't "ohm it" directly across the meter movement or you might burn it out).. It's a fairly simple design. Probably just a series circuit with a battery, meter movement, sensor (variable resistor) and trim pot (adjustable resistor). As the sensor senses a lower vacuum, it lowers it's resistance and sends more current to the meter movement and deflects it farther to the right.

    http://www.thermalengineeringcompany...01,%204575.pdf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    224
    Try checking the washers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,903
    Quote Originally Posted by ctrlaltdel View Post
    Try checking the washers.
    Where are they at?
    Look to the past to learn;look forward to live.

    Coach Dean E. Smith

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    224
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrL_Brann View Post
    Where are they at?
    Should be able to find them near the end of the tube. Or use the traditional test for leakages.

    Now can someone make me a pro member? ^^


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,571
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrL_Brann View Post
    I am sorry,I must not have explained it clear.

    The 2 YJ micron gauges are reading that it is under a vaccum,while the Thermal one is reading at atmospheric.I have all of them hooked to a titan manifold,and the 3/8" is hooked to the pump.And the gauges are showing a vac,so I know the pump is working.Any thoughts?
    The Thermal is sensitive to cold temps.

    They recommend room temp for it to work.

    Was it in a cool place?


    Quote Originally Posted by ctrlaltdel View Post
    Now can someone make me a pro member? ^^
    Twilli's back

    Send um your check
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event