Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    451

    LCBS controllers into NAE

    Tried searching for this on the board, but "NAE" is not a term liked by the board's search engine, so I'll get to the point:

    Has anyone successfully integrated Honeywell LCBS controllers (both XL10's and XL15C's) into the LON trunk of an NAE? One of our engineers is beginning to think she may have over-promised an integration - while her lack of success to date has her thinking that the issue may be with the LCBS's slightly different "flavor" of LON (which was news to me...but I don't know much about LON anyway), I'm leaning more toward the NAE's...uhhhh....less than smooth integration of all things LON that aren't JCI-labeled.

    While the xif's are easily obtained for the XL10's, the XL15C doesn't cough up such a file (I assume because it's a freely-programmable, but I may be wrong). I know that the NAE has very specific needs for certain resource files, but is there is any other trick to getting LCBS controllers into the NAE?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by davem View Post
    Tried searching for this on the board, but "NAE" is not a term liked by the board's search engine, so I'll get to the point:

    Has anyone successfully integrated Honeywell LCBS controllers (both XL10's and XL15C's) into the LON trunk of an NAE? One of our engineers is beginning to think she may have over-promised an integration - while her lack of success to date has her thinking that the issue may be with the LCBS's slightly different "flavor" of LON (which was news to me...but I don't know much about LON anyway), I'm leaning more toward the NAE's...uhhhh....less than smooth integration of all things LON that aren't JCI-labeled.

    While the xif's are easily obtained for the XL10's, the XL15C doesn't cough up such a file (I assume because it's a freely-programmable, but I may be wrong). I know that the NAE has very specific needs for certain resource nfiles, but is there is any other trick to getting LCBS controllers into the NAE?
    NAE's and XL10's boy I tell ya..... thats a match made in hell allright.
    Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    92
    I have. The XL10's no problem. The xl15 ur out of luck as this is a custom programmed controller and not lonmark certified. Problem is you need to get the nae on the same domain. I believe lcbs uses domain id 11. Be careful how you do this as you u might break bindings between the xl15 building manager and the xl10 field controllers. Make sure you have the original lcbs database, just in case.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    steeler nation
    Posts
    2,027
    the xl10's should be no problem the 15c's are another story. it is a chore to pull them into webs with the xl10 wizards.
    IV IV IX

    use your head for something other than a hat rack.......Gerry

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,278
    The 15C,, ugggg

    What a PITA control

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    I want to dump in a LVIS display or LGATE in place of that XL15. Then you can get bacnet IP display or gate and also a AST LON replacement for the 15. Anyway it should work good for migration.

    Anybody put an LVIS on that yet?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    451
    Sounds like a solid lead there, OutOfControlMan...we'd tried a couple different domain ID's (some of my previous Honeywell work used 2F), but not yet 11. Interestingly, the NAE gives you precisely one opportunity to enter the domain ID (when you first add the LON network), and then never displays the entered value again, nor allows an after-the-fact change...more of the NAE-LON pain, I guess.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth\Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,694
    LCBS uses domain 2C.
    Go Rangers!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth\Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,694
    Quote Originally Posted by OutOfControlMan View Post
    I have. The XL10's no problem. The xl15 ur out of luck as this is a custom programmed controller and not lonmark certified. Problem is you need to get the nae on the same domain. I believe lcbs uses domain id 11. Be careful how you do this as you u might break bindings between the xl15 building manager and the xl10 field controllers. Make sure you have the original lcbs database, just in case.
    The 15C is a plant controller, the 15A is the building manager.
    Go Rangers!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    108
    XL-15
    Honeywells attempt at a logic controller and a front end and the box they loaded all their extra junk into so it would do everything. It fits no profile they panic and take down the whole com bus dude throw them away and use another controller that is lon certified and fits the proper profile for the application.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth\Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,694
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris_Worthingt View Post
    The 15C,, ugggg

    What a PITA control
    Come on Chris, the 15C was made for guys who don't hardly even mess with controls to program. Honeywell sure messed that one up didnt they?
    Go Rangers!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by davem View Post
    the NAE gives you precisely one opportunity to enter the domain ID (when you first add the LON network), and then never displays the entered value again, nor allows an after-the-fact change...more of the NAE-LON pain, I guess.
    If you upload to sct I believe you can you can change it and re-download.

    The NAE works real nice to lon devices not already on a lon network because you have to build the lon network. Once the lon network is already established it becomes a little more difficult to get it in to a supervisory. The is true to any supervisory controller including the FX-40.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,278
    Quote Originally Posted by lwarren View Post
    Come on Chris, the 15C was made for guys who don't hardly even mess with controls to program. Honeywell sure messed that one up didnt they?
    uum,,, yep

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event