Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20

Thread: Alerton TDS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225

    Alerton TDS

    Does anyone know the procedure to connect
    to a TX-653P with a AC-2650 cable?
    The controller is run with Bactalk server.

    I run TDS and and bring up menu
    Instead of using a APEX number, I change it to internal
    read DDC from device
    It states DDC loaded.
    I go to edit DDC and nothing is there.

    Is it from configuration?

    Is this correct procedure to read ddc from device?

    Do I need a IBEX key to run TDS?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    56
    No you do not need a ibex key. Under config have you put in the controllers address before reading it?

    What version of bactalk are you using?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwicontroller View Post
    No you do not need a ibex key. Under config have you put in the controllers address before reading it?

    What version of bactalk are you using?
    I know where you put ther address but the first line
    asks for APEX address or internal.
    Then the second line says TUX
    The third line is where you put the trunk number
    and tux address.

    I put it to internal and last line I put trunk 1 and address 3

    Press F7 for menu

    Then select Read DDC from device

    It states the DDC is uploaded

    Then I press F7 and edit DDC

    Nothing shows up in DDC.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    56
    That all sounds ok,it looks like you have lost the DDC in the controller do you have a saved backup of that controllers DDC that you can re-send to the controller?
    Is this job a Ibex upgrade to Bactalk if so look in the local job directory under ddc and copy that data file into a ibex test job open the ibex application and load that data file in a test job open and verify that it is correct is so load that data file to the controller.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    936
    Hi Mechinc,
    You need to have a windows 98 boot disk with a copy of DOS TDS. If you have TDSW, it will not work. You need to boot your laptop from the disk. You do not need a key.
    When you see the C:\ prompt. type in TDS. Then upload the program and you are all set to go. TDS will not direct connect to a TUX from windows.
    Good luck.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
    Hi Mechinc,
    You need to have a windows 98 boot disk with a copy of DOS TDS. If you have TDSW, it will not work. You need to boot your laptop from the disk. You do not need a key.
    When you see the C:\ prompt. type in TDS. Then upload the program and you are all set to go. TDS will not direct connect to a TUX from windows.
    Good luck.
    How do I know if it is a dos or windows version?
    I have a 98 boot disk and have software files that
    I transferred to a floppy.
    Once I boot to command prompt then I switch floppies
    to my TDS file floppy.
    I have AC-2650 cable connected to my comm1
    I boot with boot disk and get a: prompt
    from a: prompt , I type tds and it runs from a: drive
    and I get tds opened but then it defaults to comm1
    and I change the tux address as 3 (the controller address)
    hit f7 for menu and select read but it states cannot communicate.
    Is this the correct procedure?
    Am I missing some files?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    936
    The DOS TDS is the version that comes with IBEX 3700. Anything newer will be windows based. The only thing that I do differently is to have TDS and all tux files on the windows boot disk.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    What alerton files do you have on the boot disk?
    I cannot fit all the files on 1 disk.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    936
    This is a copy of my boot disk. Rename it to a .zip and unzip it. It has all of the files that I use.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
    This is a copy of my boot disk. Rename it to a .zip and unzip it. It has all of the files that I use.
    I tried this boot disk and it boots to win98 and starts to count down
    to boot then I hit shift+F5 for command prompt.
    I get A:\ then type in tds
    TDS software comes up and I go to configuration and change
    TUX 01 to TUX 03 since TUX 653P address is 03.
    Then I go to menu and select read ddc from tux
    then it trys to communicate then comes back as unable to communicate
    with TUX, what is wrong?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    936
    Have you tried this on any other controllers? I'm wondering if there could be a problem with the 2650 port on the TUX or maybe something with the cable.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
    Have you tried this on any other controllers? I'm wondering if there could be a problem with the 2650 port on the TUX or maybe something with the cable.
    No but I will try next time I'm there.
    I did notice the green status does go out then comes back on
    after I connect the 2650 cable.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    OK...I tried it on another controller and it still
    states "cannot communicate with tux"
    I already have a new 2650 cable.
    Do I need to disconnect the trunk before I connect
    the 2650 cable?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event