bkromer Guest

Looking for suggestions for old farm house

I've got a buddy (we all do). He has asked me to change the oil forced air furnace in his cottage to a propane forced air furnace, no problem. I do have a problem with the way the house is currently ducted. This is an old 1 1/2 story home on a slab. The home has a big room that encompasses the entire lower level with the acception of an additon off one side, also on a slab, that is now the kitchen and mud room. When the house was built there was only a wood stove for heat, hence all the duct work is exposed throughout the house in a very crude manor and the furnace is essentially in the middle of the living room. I want to redo it all. I am a service technician in a metropolitan area, so working with an old farmhouse is new to me. I am looking for suggestions on eliminating this mess at low cost. I was contemplating a boiler, but air conditioning may be desired at a later date. If anyone has installed an hvac system in an old farmhouse, your experience right now is invaluable to me.

Unfortunately, the forum you're asking in limits what we can contribut. There's no DIY allowed and though you've stated you're a tech, until you can qualify for pro status we have no way of verifying that. Having said all of that, a poor duct system, be it layout or leaks or lack of insulation or all three, is going to drive up the costs of heating no matter what fuel is used. I don't know what the cost of oil and propane are in your neighborhood but in mine that would be an unwise move unless the old furnace is breathing it's last.