Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2
    I have a Quadra Fire 1200 that was working fine last year. It starts up ok, a little smokey to begin with, but once fire starts that clears up.
    So, the problem I have is that once it goes thru the first cycle of to load and start burning pellets, no more pellets are fed in.

    1. Problem with the thermostat?
    2. Feeder problem?

    Had read some of the past posts, and a similar problem seemed to be solved by having a chimney sweep come over and clean out the liner sleeve

    drewstar had posted back in sept '05
    ---- "a significant amount of "ash" in the vent pipe that caused the vacuum swicth to shut off the auger feed."-----

    So the long and short is, what can I do? Any quick fix ideas I can try before I call Quadra Tech support?? Thanks for any ideas.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    356

    Check auger mounts

    I have come across a similar problem like this in the past.

    First - physically verify that the vent is indeed clear.
    Second - access the rear panel that houses the auger motor.
    Third Check the auger motor fastening bolts, they have
    a tendency to vibrate loose,
    while there clean the motor and auger.

    GOOD LUCK! Hope this helps


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    Have you cleaned the whole stove and flue? Pellet stoves require regular maintenance to function correctly. Check your owners manual. You can also go to the quadrafire site and find the nearest dealer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2

    hmmm...

    Thanks for the ideas guys. So far I have cleaned the hopper, the exhaust plenum? area, and the flue. I checked the auger fastening bolts and they were loose. I've tightened them back up. BUT am still having the same problem.
    I am now thinking that the problem is coming from the thermostat, because the stove will start initially, but once the first load in the firepot is burned out nothing else happens. The blower continues to run and the call light stays on. (So am thinking the thermostat, but am by no means an expert on this kinda stuff, so am really kinda guessing)
    OK, so I think that the next step for me is to get in touch with quadra tech support and my dealer.... that is unless someone out there has a "magic fix" for this. Either way, thanks very much for all the help.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,191

    know the sequence

    On an initial call for heat, the auger feeds pellets only if the vacuum switch says there is vacuum and snap disc#2 is closed. Once the cycle begins, when the thermocouple reaches 200F, it tells the igniter to heat for only another 3.5 minutes. Once the thermocouple reaches 600F, it shuts off the igniter and should be up and running. If you aren't getting that far, go back and look at the components involved:
    Vacuum switch- hose loose, hose cracked, door not sealed/ bad gasket, ash pan open, combustion motor cloggesd, vent clogged, no pellets in hopper to form a seal.
    Snap disc #2- stuck, someone may have installed a manual reset type-push button.
    Thermocouple sensing- bad TC, ceramic cover not touching tip of TC, TC not at least 1" over flame, "green rot" on TC, connections loose.
    Feed tube- bridging due to foreign matter or super long pellets or fines. I've been finding a lot of 2" pellets this yr. Also found a chunk of plastic bag in one feed tube. Use a mirror to visualize the drop tube.
    Auger- reverse the red and black wires in case something is blocking the feed tube.

    If you jump out the vac. switch & snap disc #2 and it still won't feed, then its probably the TC.

    HTH

  6. #6
    have the same problem, not every time...but most times it will only burn through the initial drop of pellets, then go out....if I push reset while it's burning, this seems to help sometimes and get it past that initial burn cycle....help please!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,191

    Hmm

    We cannot service or inspect your stove over the internet. You need someone qualified in there. I have explained how this brand of pellet stoves sequences. We cannot give DIY advice here per site rules.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event