Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20

Thread: LON .XIF file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225

    LON .XIF file

    Performing a Lon job with a Mitsubishi split system going back to a NAE.
    I do not have an .xif resource file.
    How can I upload the .xif file to put in the NAE as a resource file?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,197
    What is your network management tool?

    I am familiar with Lon and Lonmaker, but not with the NAE.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    I have the latest Lonmaker

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,197
    Drop a generic Lon device on the drawing from your lonmaker basic shapes stencil. Choose your interface type - FT-10/whatever it is and make sure you have a channel of that type on your drawing. Name it and then choose upload from device on the .xif file. I've always then service pinned the device to get the NID. Anyway once it's done commissioning you can then drop a function block referencing your new device and make connections.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    78

    Nodeutil

    The LNS tool can commission without a xif, but the NAE requires one. The easiest is to use Nodeutil to connect to the device and generate a xif file. Then just add the xif to the NAE as a resource.

    Nodeutil182 I believe is the latest, available free from echelon's web site.

    poochz
    There is a way that seems good to man, but in the end leads to death.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    I will try and let you know....

    Thanks!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    Started to do your suggestion but then I received
    the Mitsubishi CD with the .XIF file on it.
    Loaded the standard and the device.xif files in NAE35 Lon
    as resource files.
    Rebooted NAE.
    It found the device but when I try to discover
    points, the NAE locks up then reboots.
    NAE version is 4.0
    Any suggestions???

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    42
    Did you build a LON network? You should be able to see both devices online thru your LON interface.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by mechinc View Post
    Started to do your suggestion but then I received
    the Mitsubishi CD with the .XIF file on it.
    Loaded the standard and the device.xif files in NAE35 Lon
    as resource files.
    Rebooted NAE.
    It found the device but when I try to discover
    points, the NAE locks up then reboots.
    NAE version is 4.0
    Any suggestions???
    That sounds like par.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    92
    See: http://cgproducts.johnsoncontrols.co...t.aspx?CID=34#

    In addition, the LONWORKS network integration requires two standard resource
    files named STANDARD.TYP and STANDARD.FPT. The final required resource
    file is the default NV Configuration Data file. This required resource file, in a
    default state, is automatically added to the NAE resource file list when adding the
    LON Integration object. This default file must be updated with the actual installed
    configuration data by sending the LONWORKS network image to the NAE from
    MCL Tool

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    92
    You need to also set the NAE and devices on the same domain!! Do this with a lon managment tool.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by CascadeControl View Post
    Did you build a LON network? You should be able to see both devices online thru your LON interface.

    Yes, the lon network is built and I can see points in the field from Lonmaker.

    I cannot discover the points in the NAE.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by OutOfControlMan View Post
    You need to also set the NAE and devices on the same domain!! Do this with a lon managment tool.
    I will check tomorrow!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event