Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1

    My AC works too good...???

    Hi all,

    I recently purchased a new townhome and the AC works great. It almost seems like it works too well because it will come on for a couple of minutes, blows a cold hard blast of air and then shuts off. It does this sometimes 10 times per hour, keeps the home nice and cool but the blast of cold air is uncomfortable when I'm in bed or sitting at my dining room table. The builder had the installing contractor out and he changed something on top of the furnace and slowed the fan speed down but it still turns off and on and is really cold. The builder and AC man say everything is working good and I should be happy that it does not run all the time.

    My townhome is approx. 1800 sq ft with 12 ft ceilings on the first floor and 8 ft. ceilings on the second floor. My new home manual says I have a 2.5 ton AC on the bottom and a 3.0 ton AC on the top.

    The builder/AC service man only gave a simple explanation of the system (probably since I'm a woman) and told me all was well. I do not trust that these people have my best interest at heart but do not know who to call. Can anyone on this site advise what would be the best course of action? My other home did not seem to cool so fast, is the way this unit working proper? The builder told me that since these are more efficient units and my home is well insulated then my house will cool faster and the AC units will work better and blow colder air. I don't want to complain if this is the way things should work but after spending $$$ on this place I want everything to be working right. I live north of DFW airport in Texas.

    Thanks in advance!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Naples, Fl
    Posts
    889
    Sounds over sized.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Where is the stat located ,in relation to the indoor unit??

  4. #4
    The upstairs thermostat is in the master bedroom and the first floor thermostat is located in the hallway between the dining room and garage.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,368
    You have 5½tons for 1800 square foot.

    You must live in Death Valley. Or you have no insulation.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Any supply grills blowing at the stats?

    If the wall the stat is on is being used for a return,the hole for the stat wire needs to be sealed.

    Looking at the equip. sizes, Adrain may be right,just oversized equipment.u

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    You have 5½tons for 1800 square foot.

    You must live in Death Valley. Or you have no insulation.
    When I first contacted the builder he had the AC man come out to make sure everything was installed and sized right. The AC Company said the unit was sized right since the did a heat check?? and it gets hot here in TX.

    The home is supposed to be energy star compliant with a lot of insulation. From the yardstick thing in the attic it looks like I have at least 18" up there.

    What can be done if it is oversized?

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by dash View Post
    Any supply grills blowing at the stats?

    If the wall the stat is on is being used for a return,the hole for the stat wire needs to be sealed.

    Looking at the equip. sizes, Adrain may be right,just oversized equipment.u
    When they came out to fix the thing of top of the furnace they changed the grill so it did not blow on the thermostat. I think the return is in the ceiling next to the grill that blows the cold air.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vero Beach, Florida, United States
    Posts
    2,675
    Quote Originally Posted by sothrn grl View Post
    When I first contacted the builder he had the AC man come out to make sure everything was installed and sized right. The AC Company said the unit was sized right since the did a heat check?? and it gets hot here in TX.

    The home is supposed to be energy star compliant with a lot of insulation. From the yardstick thing in the attic it looks like I have at least 18" up there.

    What can be done if it is oversized?
    Sounds like its oversized for sure.

    What can you do? Hmmm open the windows since you have enough to cool the neighborhood. LOL
    Owner
    All-American Air Conditioning
    Vero Beach, Florida

  10. #10
    How can I find out if it is oversized? The builder and AC man said it was the right size. I know I can't ask about pricing on this site; can anyone here point me in the right direction for an independent company to come out and make sure everything is OK? I don't think the builder has my best interest if this unit turns out to be oversize.

    Mr. Kletty - -you are not too far off about your window opening idea. I actually tried that this summer but it got too humid for my comfort. I don't know how people lived here without AC years ago

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,368
    Post your location.
    There are contractors from Texas that are members of this board.
    One may be near you, or able to recomend someone that is in your area.


    1800/5.5=327

    New construction, should not need 1 ton per 327 square foot.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    kalamazoo,mich
    Posts
    2,174
    Are both units running or just one? You could try setting the thermostat higher on the first floor, so that the upstairs unit is the only one running. Maybe you might want to move your bed so that it's not under a register.
    Have you hugged the Earth today?
    Donny Baker rules

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Post your location.
    There are contractors from Texas that are members of this board.
    One may be near you, or able to recomend someone that is in your area.
    I live in Lewisville, TX. If anyone can give me a recommendation for a company that can confirm if my AC is good that would be great.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event