Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27
  1. #1

    Not sure if I have emergency heat...

    I have a Goodman CPLE24-1C heat pump and a Goodman ARUF030-00A-1A air handler. I need to know whether or not this setup has emergency (or auxiliary) heat? I've checked the company website and have found nothing that helps me out. I need to know because I am wanting to buy a programmable thermostat. The models that work for heat pumps with emergency heat are significantly more expensive than ones that operate heat pumps without emergency heat. Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,330
    Emergency heat. Is not part of the air handler package itself.
    It is a field installed option.

    On your current thermostat.
    Set it to emergency heat, turn teh stat up.
    If it comes on, and you smell something getting hot, like dust, or feel air that is much warmer then in heat mode.
    You have emergncy/aux heat.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    The air handler does not come with E-heat. The installer adds it. You have a 2 ton outdoor unit with a 2.5 ton indoor unit, which is common, because alot of mfgr's use the same A/H with 2 - 2.5 ton units. I would think you have 10kw strip heat, but to know for sure you need to contact the installer and ask which strip heat kit was installed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Sorry Been, you type faster than I do.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    322

    not sure if i have electric heat

    Here is another way I think you can find out depending on your elect. meter have some one set the uinit to emer. heat watch the wheel in your elect meter to see if it speeds up if it does you have strip heat.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    Quote Originally Posted by mike robinson View Post
    Here is another way I think you can find out depending on your elect. meter have some one set the uinit to emer. heat watch the wheel in your elect meter to see if it speeds up if it does you have strip heat.
    And boy does it start spinning fast.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,731
    a good installer will mark the data placard if and what size the strip is . also call your installing contractor and have them install you a thermostat and a outdoor thermostat to keep the strips locked out till balance point is reached they should have that info

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hangin out with you losers
    Posts
    1,043
    How big is the wire going to your A/H?
    I remember my first day,It was fun!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,330
    Is this a DIY install?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,416
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Emergency heat. Is not part of the air handler package itself.
    It is a field installed option.
    Been thats not always true. His model ARUF030-00A-1A indicates no strip,But you can order with factory strip and it would have a model number like ARUF030-05A-1A. The 05 would indicate 5 KW of factory strip.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  11. #11
    Yes.

  12. #12
    Thanks. I did your test and it appears that I do have emergency heat.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909

    Excellent advice

    Quote Originally Posted by mike robinson View Post
    Here is another way I think you can find out depending on your elect. meter have some one set the uinit to emer. heat watch the wheel in your elect meter to see if it speeds up if it does you have strip heat.
    I don't know why I didn't think of that. Stupid me was just thinking that if you put on E-heat and felt warm air coming out, it must have heat strips installed. Damn, the ol' power meter thing got me again!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event