Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7

    Help! GE Heat Pump

    Hi all, this is my first post on here. I have joined in order to get some help with troubleshooting/improving the performance of my GE heat pump. It is mounted indoors, in a closet on the second floor of my condo. It has been a source of both frustration and joy. I have two questions for all you experts out there.

    1) I turned my thermostat to "heat" mode for the first time in months yesterday, but there is no heat coming out of the vents. I was not aware that there were separate heating and cooling elements per se, but it appears that maybe there is a fuse for each. The reason this is confusing is because the unit seems to still be capable of cooling. What could be causing this?

    2) Overall, the unit does not adequately heat my condo and this has been a source of debate between homeowners and the developers. While technically the heat pumps are rated to the space, the thermal mass of the concrete block envelope walls is effecting the inside temp so much that you just have to run the heat pump 24/7 when it's cold, so that the interior blocks have little chance to cool down, therefore retaining heat and radiating it into the space.

    I am curious about if there is anything I can do to increase the heating abilities of the unit without replacing it. I noticed that on the front panel, there are different "power supply kits" listed, with a corresponding max heating. Do any of those combos make more heat than another, or is it just for compatibility?

    Here is a pic of the unit's label:


    I know very little about hvac stuff, and I can't afford to get a pro in here right now. Any help would be more than greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    you can call on a local contractor to come out and check your heating system out for you. other than that, this is not a DIY site
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7
    Okay, are there any sites that are?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by mcm303 View Post
    Okay, are there any sites that are?

    you so crazy



    .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Does anybody notice anything strange about this data plate?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    Quote Originally Posted by mcm303 View Post
    Okay, are there any sites that are?
    this is the only HVAC trusted site on the web
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,754
    Quote Originally Posted by BamaCool View Post
    Does anybody notice anything strange about this data plate?

    GE made in china???

    what is this a thru the wall unit?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7
    Yes, thru the wall unit.

    I am just curious, from a general knowledge standpoint, do heat pumps have separate fuses for heating and cooling?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,316
    That's their VTAC. Like a Magic Pak heatpump.

    Last edited by BaldLoonie; 10-25-2008 at 10:49 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,754
    don't think a little bitty unit like that would.


    tag says it is a corded unit, does it just plug into an outlet?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by BamaCool View Post
    Does anybody notice anything strange about this data plate?
    "Cord Connected Unit"

    LOL
    I need a new signature.....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by t527ed View Post
    don't think a little bitty unit like that would.


    tag says it is a corded unit, does it just plug into an outlet?
    There is a cord that goes to an enclosure with a strange plastic T-handle inside that I think you are supposed to remove and reverse to shut off power to the unit. It says on there "no fuses inside." Where are they?

    This is a green-built project which is why you are seeing such a (probably) strange residential setup.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,316
    There are 3 levels of electric heat chosen by which cord is used and based on available power. Ask the installer if he is using the 5kw element? Shouldn't be a fuse or breaker issue if the fan blows. How cold is it outside? If above freezing, the compressor should be running backed up by the electric strips. Sounds like the dealer needs to check it out. As for barely keeping up, that's a sizing issue if the thing is wired properly.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event