Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    128

    wireless networking????

    HELP need some tips on wireless networking have 4 buildings without copper or fiber connecting them the cost is sooo high to run copper or fiber to connect the buildings that the customer isn't intrested in doing it. Wireless seems like the most cost effective way to do this but the distance between the buildings is about 1000 feet. Do any of you have any input as far as parabolic antennas or directional antennas and a reliable cost effective wireless ethernet router setup that would resemble a 10 base t lan.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    151
    What system you got installed, (johnsons, tridium, honeywell, siemens)? Do the different buildings need to communicate with each other (like sending heating demands to a boiler controller) or is it just a head end that needs to talk to all 4 buildings? Have the buildings got phone lines?

    The reason I ask is that some protocols can transmit on radio frequencies and have a greater distance than WiFi. Also, I have used a device before that uses the two wires of a telephone system to give ethernet connectivity (bit like adsl). Just a few other options to think about.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Don't be a stupid dwarf. It's not big and it's not clever!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    128
    trane controls so it would be a bacnet interface. There are phone lines but dialup is so slow this is one of the things the customer is frustrated with and the phone company owns the phonelines and they aren't copper its fiber so can't do a hardwired connection.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    258
    We have done this on an ALC system thru microwave, we broadcasted the signal from one side of the river across to the other building. I can't recall the name of the equipment that we used but I can find out. I can tell you that it's in the thousands but it works excellent. Speed and reliability is not an issue, you would never know that it was wireless. We did have a problem when they built as building in our line of site and we also had to replace it at least once. We also had a problem with bees building a nest in the transmitter.
    HotRod


    Controls..some days your a hero, some days your a zero. Direct acting since 1992.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Is there Internet in both buildings?
    Also, is there enough capacity for a single BCU?
    Are the devices COMM 5?
    TIA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    128
    Sysint,
    four BCU's but gonna leave them as individual sites. there is internet in the buildings but it is leased spaces so the building owner has no access to it except in his suite. we did talk to the local utility that ran the fiber to the buildings and they can provide the lines and make it look like a 10 base t lan for the bcu's but they want nearly 8 thousand dollars a year for the lease. so the property manager is stuck with a dialup from his office and he only has one phone line so he gets knocked off all the time and can't be on the phone and look at his controls at the same time. he has a vpn tunnel from his office to the lan in the owners suite where he can see the tridium stuff they have in another building this was the point i wanted to install a router to get the wan on their lan. buildings are about 1000 feet from each other so i was thinking wireless n routers set up to talk peer to peer and repeat and use outdoor antennas to increase the range of the routers. talked to tech support and was advised they wont support it but know it has been done and can't give me any details was hoping i could get some here.

    Hot rod,
    Because of the distance i think microwave would be a little overkill and this facility is in the final approach path of an airport so planes are coming over very low dont know if we can use microwave here. thanks for the input guys, keep it coming!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    151
    Never tried them but a quick search on google found this

    http://www.maxtech.com/html/xwl411.html

    Pretty much covers what you want I think.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Don't be a stupid dwarf. It's not big and it's not clever!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    128
    Thanks dude I've been searching multiple IT websites looking for a solution but it appears I've been looking in the wrong places. I think this is what I'm looking for if I can find someone that actually sells them(the links for distributors don't work). I'll update this later after we try the WAP's and give y'all status. Vols are playing right now so gotta go!!!


    GO VOLS BEAT BAMA!!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    I have used the LON version of this and it looks like they have a Bacnet version, might want to give them a shout??

    The price is right and it just works http://www.aic-wireless.com/home.html

  10. #10
    Please check profile.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event