Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,720

    Predator Integrated Into JACE 600?

    Is it possible to easily integrate a Staefa Predator (LON), originally tied to a Talon R2, into an AX JACE 600?
    TIA,
    jogas
    Jogas
    Four wheel therapy, my 1968 Camaro is gone and will be missed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by jogas View Post
    Is it possible to easily integrate a Staefa Predator (LON), originally tied to a Talon R2, into an AX JACE 600?
    TIA,
    jogas
    Should be no problem.
    The Staefa 'wizard' on AX is just a donk graphic. I could send you one if you would like it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,720
    Quote Originally Posted by NINAX View Post
    Should be no problem.
    The Staefa 'wizard' on AX is just a donk graphic. I could send you one if you would like it.
    Please do.
    Thanks.
    jogas
    Jogas
    Four wheel therapy, my 1968 Camaro is gone and will be missed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    86
    If it's commisioned R2 can't you just find it and learn points? It was easier for me to commision Steafa in R2 than AX, but things may have changed in the last year.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,720
    Quote Originally Posted by ebusch View Post
    If it's commisioned R2 can't you just find it and learn points? It was easier for me to commision Steafa in R2 than AX, but things may have changed in the last year.
    I'm hoping that is the case.
    At this point, I'm gathering info on what is possible.
    Job has not started yet.
    Thanks for the reply.
    Jogas
    Four wheel therapy, my 1968 Camaro is gone and will be missed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    86
    I just talked to one of my former co-workers last week if you have issues I can quiz him. I got out as my old company was getting into AX. What controller is it ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,720
    Quote Originally Posted by ebusch View Post
    I just talked to one of my former co-workers last week if you have issues I can quiz him. I got out as my old company was getting into AX. What controller is it ?
    4 Loop Predator installed 2-3 (?) years ago onto a Talon R2.
    Thank you.
    Jogas
    Four wheel therapy, my 1968 Camaro is gone and will be missed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    86
    That should not be too bad if you can just upload then the loops (PIDS) will be there you will have to recreate the programming. All they are is 4 PID's. Hope you have some idea as to what it was controlling and how. I guess I am assuming that the tech tuned loops at the card level.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,720
    Quote Originally Posted by ebusch View Post
    That should not be too bad if you can just upload then the loops (PIDS) will be there you will have to recreate the programming. All they are is 4 PID's. Hope you have some idea as to what it was controlling and how. I guess I am assuming that the tech tuned loops at the card level.
    As I understand, the Predators are just I/O with no Loops used.
    Jogas
    Four wheel therapy, my 1968 Camaro is gone and will be missed

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    86
    That is not true. The 4 Loop as the name indicates has 4 built in PID's If the loops are not set up then they can be used as I/O, I can't remember pricing to know if they would have done that (used as I/O). This is from memory but I believe Loop 1 is very slow acting and hard to tune, Loops 2,3 are easy to tune so I always used them for DX, heat, loop 4 is very slow and hard to tune so I used it for MA and programmed around it.
    Don't bank on that check the Steafa site, or let me know.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,720
    Quote Originally Posted by ebusch View Post
    That is not true. The 4 Loop as the name indicates has 4 built in PID's If the loops are not set up then they can be used as I/O, I can't remember pricing to know if they would have done that (used as I/O). This is from memory but I believe Loop 1 is very slow acting and hard to tune, Loops 2,3 are easy to tune so I always used them for DX, heat, loop 4 is very slow and hard to tune so I used it for MA and programmed around it.
    Don't bank on that check the Steafa site, or let me know.
    I apologize for not being clear.
    I know the Predators have 4 Loops, but the Loops are not being used in this application. The Predators are being used for I/O purposes only.
    Jogas
    Four wheel therapy, my 1968 Camaro is gone and will be missed

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    256

    Predators

    jogas

    You have to be careful when you are using AX 3.0 or >. However since your four loops were done in R2 there will be no problems, unless you add a new one.
    The four loop works well as a pid controller or dumb I/O.

    G

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by GregF View Post
    jogas

    You have to be careful when you are using AX 3.0 or >. However since your four loops were done in R2 there will be no problems, unless you add a new one.
    The four loop works well as a pid controller or dumb I/O.

    G
    Are you referring to, if memory serves, the timing issue when using a Staefa device from the palette? Fix 1 being an additional slot added, Fix 2 being add a dynamic device instead of Staefa device?

    And just for general consumption, AX is 3.0 and up.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event