Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Geothermal Parallel well installation

Thanks for reading.

I am a licensed water operator with plenty of experience with wells and piping. I am building a house and hired a contractor to install my HVAC system using a loop configuration consisting of two wells, each well is 300 feet deep. My system is a 4-ton system.

My question is about head loss. The two wells are 15 feet apart and the 1.25 inch pipes from one are mated to the other in parallel and then two pipes enter the house using the same size 1.25 inch pipe. In the parallel connection they used two T connections and two elbow connections. They placed the straight side of the both T connections on the same well making it a straight shot from house to the first well. They then used the side out of the two T connections followed by two elbows to the second well. In simplest form this means the first well has a straight shot to the house and the second well has 4 elbows.

I would think a balanced flow is important in this type of situation and if they had used one sideout T on one well 1 and one on well 2 they would have achieved balanced flow from both wells.

Can someone please tell me if this should be an issue or not? Will the flow rate differ between both wells? Since the ditch is still open should it be changed?

I spent a lot of money on this system to achieve a efficient system and I don’t want to see it not work as well as it should just because of this.

Thanks,
    John

Parallel wells is common. The major point is to have the correct circulator flow. The well tubing should be the same length and and diameter. Fitting losses are most likely insignificant in your case.

paul

Important to be right.