Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,890
    Post Likes

    aww $*&t...I nicked the wire...

    Guess three rolls of electrical tape can fix anything.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,269
    Post Likes
    Well....you could disconnect it and replace with shrink, but I don't really see a problem with it as long as it is actual electrical tape. Better than a lot of times where some one has nicked the insulation, and just left it
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Post Likes
    I'll bet it's not a nick but a butt splice. That appears to be the netural and it looks like it came up short to reach the nutural bar so the extended it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,890
    Post Likes
    >but a butt splice

    What I'm thinking also.

    Won't matter as they are AL feeders and spec calls for CU. So they will all be replaced anyhow.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Northern Ontario
    Posts
    128
    Post Likes

    Talking

    At least they didnt try a marrette

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by orion242 View Post
    >but a butt splice

    spec calls for CU.

    Wait till they see the price of copper..........

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,229
    Post Likes
    I've spliced neutrals like that in a pannel before when I was too short to reach the buss. pulling another 2-0 wire is not an option.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Centerville, Iowa
    Posts
    418
    Post Likes
    FWIW fewer and fewer images that are posted as attachments are showing up on my computer. I tried opening this thread with Firefox, IE, and Safari and the picture didn't show up in all 3 once I logged in. I don't have a software firewall since I have the WRT54GS V2 router and since I tried all 3 browsers it can't be a problem at my end. Can people PLEASE start using imageshack or other similar photo hosting sites again? The site is much more enjoyable when the pictures actually work.
    To get the degree symbol on Windows hold down the Alt key and type 0176 on the keyboard number pad. It is also available via the character map, and on Windows 8.1 devices with a touchscreen via the on screen keyboard.

    There is no "E" in either BluVac or Blu-ray Disc.

    If you are the type where the painting is more important than the frame, or you just like movies, join me in listening to the widescreen.org podcast.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Outer Banks, NC
    Posts
    193
    Post Likes
    Works fine in Firefox for me. Make sure your router isn't set to block things

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,865
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by danielthechskid View Post
    FWIW fewer and fewer images that are posted as attachments are showing up on my computer. I tried opening this thread with Firefox, IE, and Safari and the picture didn't show up in all 3 once I logged in. I don't have a software firewall since I have the WRT54GS V2 router and since I tried all 3 browsers it can't be a problem at my end. Can people PLEASE start using imageshack or other similar photo hosting sites again? The site is much more enjoyable when the pictures actually work.
    Ditto. IE, Opera and Firefox. I can't see it. Happens with others too; now you see it, now you don't, oh! there it is.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,462
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by danielthechskid View Post
    FWIW fewer and fewer images that are posted as attachments are showing up on my computer. I tried opening this thread with Firefox, IE, and Safari and the picture didn't show up in all 3 once I logged in. I don't have a software firewall since I have the WRT54GS V2 router and since I tried all 3 browsers it can't be a problem at my end. Can people PLEASE start using imageshack or other similar photo hosting sites again? The site is much more enjoyable when the pictures actually work.
    I have the same router and no probs here with either browser. Thats strange.
    "It's always controls"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    1,642
    Post Likes
    It's hit-or-miss for me as well with this site currently. I did a View Source and indeed the system is putting in links to the pictures into the webpage... BUT when I try to view those links they come back blank.

    Most likely someone's unintentionally changed the directory permissions on the server or upgraded versions of PHP and something needs to be put back to where it was. I've encountered it on a couple of my own servers in the past.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,239
    Post Likes
    The Penton IT department will be moving us to a Linux server soon. This should remedy several software glitches that are occurring.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event