Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 43
  1. #27
    Quote Originally Posted by Vortech View Post
    do an NAE in my sleep V-
    Thats called a nightmare ..brother.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by Vortech View Post
    but I am ex jci and could do an NAE in my sleep
    I've seen JCI techs fall asleep at thier computers, are NAE's that slow now with the new "improved" versions?

    I've done NAE's before too, but only up to rev2.2

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by ddcfreek View Post
    I've seen JCI techs fall asleep at thier computers, are NAE's that slow now with the new "improved" versions?
    I think they compare it to fine wine, ie it takes a long time to get there.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    128
    well time will tell , If i fall in love with the tridium stuff like you guys, I think I have lttle choice in the long run because you cant buy some JCI stuff when your on the outside ..... so now my learning must start on the tridium stuff

    that said witht the r2 product can I "upgrade" any part of the system ie: the websupervisor or does everything need to be replaced...

    what software do you recommend I get, as I would like to use/play with it before I am sitting in a class looking at the software for the first time...its nice to have questions before you get there if you know what I mean

    and I guess where do you purchase you hardware/software from...do you prefer the FX line from JCI or another OEM ?

    -V-

  5. #31
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by Vortech View Post
    well time will tell , If i fall in love with the tridium stuff like you guys, I think I have lttle choice in the long run because you cant buy some JCI stuff when your on the outside ..... so now my learning must start on the tridium stuff-
    It's like when Darth Vader took his mask off, hopefully your not as ugly...

    Quote Originally Posted by Vortech View Post
    that said witht the r2 product can I "upgrade" any part of the system ie: the websupervisor or does everything need to be replaced...-
    I believe you can upgrade any part as long the supervisor is at the same or higher revision.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vortech View Post
    and I guess where do you purchase you hardware/software from...do you prefer the FX line from JCI or another OEM ?
    I would only get FX if you need the N2, if your working with Lon or bacnet I would get Vykon or Honeywell.
    Last edited by ddcfreek; 10-24-2008 at 06:13 PM.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by ddcfreek View Post
    I would only get FX if you need the N2, if your working with Lon or bacnet I would get Vykon or Honeywell.
    I agree with the FX part, but I'd say stay away from Honeywell. They seem to be getting real stupid with the WEBs.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by NINAX View Post
    They seem to be getting real stupid with the WEBs.
    How so? You mean with Spyders?

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by ddcfreek View Post
    How so? You mean with Spyders?
    As a side issue, I'd say yes to the Spuders and XL10 wizards.

    Mainly, the default is the non-open JACE and Supervisor. Of course, these limit the owner's options.

    ASD tech support is usually 'I never heard of that', 'That's weird', and then my personal favorite, not answering the phone and not responding to voicemail.

    They seem to be slow as snails for licensing, and essentially have no emergency licensing plan, or so says the ASD we deal with.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by NINAX View Post
    As a side issue, I'd say yes to the Spuders and XL10 wizards.

    Mainly, the default is the non-open JACE and Supervisor. Of course, these limit the owner's options.

    ASD tech support is usually 'I never heard of that', 'That's weird', and then my personal favorite, not answering the phone and not responding to voicemail.

    They seem to be slow as snails for licensing, and essentially have no emergency licensing plan, or so says the ASD we deal with.
    I see, I've only called tac once and they called me back the next day. As far as licensing, they've seemed to have gotten better in the last few months.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    467
    Quote Originally Posted by NINAX View Post
    Mainly, the default is the non-open JACE and Supervisor. Of course, these limit the owner's options.
    Hmmm...I've been ordering most of my Tridium stuff lately from our ASD, and by simply adding an -O to their part numbers, the stuff comes with an open license (so I can use my Vykon software). I've been able to do all the Spyder and Venom stuff with my regular Vykon software - not limited at all...

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by davem View Post
    Hmmm...I've been ordering most of my Tridium stuff lately from our ASD, and by simply adding an -O to their part numbers, the stuff comes with an open license (so I can use my Vykon software). I've been able to do all the Spyder and Venom stuff with my regular Vykon software - not limited at all...
    I'm sure everyone here knows that adding the -O gets the open license. But 'adding' to the part number is not the default, now is it?

    Spuders can be programmed with 'brands' of HW and Vykon only. This sure sounds limited to me.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    467
    Don't know - never heard of a "default" part number... usually, the person placing the order has to be smart enough to know the part number they want. If you rely on the person picking up the phone to know exactly what you want, that's why you won't be satisfied with what you get.
    Order smartly, and you'll find that Honeywell is every bit as good a source for Tridium product as Johnson is. The fact that Honeywell actually sells every driver that Tridium ever developed for the platform is a plus, as opposed to any of the Johnson channels that don't know a thing beyond N2, LON, and BACnet. Expand your horizons, get to know how to order the entire product line...and you'll be a better advocate for the platform.

  13. #39
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    I'm going on record stating I like both of you guys.... OK go back to battling it out..

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event