Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 44

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564

    AX device capacity

    AX capacity questions. I get differing explanations on capacity for LON devices on an AX box. Is this completely dependent on available resources or are there other considerations? For instance, does the box always consider all variables from a node or is more like the ilon100 where you pick the variables you want to deal with?

    I'd like to know a practical average of how many devices an AX box can handle.

    Also, can you leverage a AX to utilize IP852 or is this a lost cause because the box is limited?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by sysint View Post
    AX capacity questions. I get differing explanations on capacity for LON devices on an AX box. Is this completely dependent on available resources or are there other considerations? For instance, does the box always consider all variables from a node or is more like the ilon100 where you pick the variables you want to deal with?

    I'd like to know a practical average of how many devices an AX box can handle.

    Also, can you leverage a AX to utilize IP852 or is this a lost cause because the box is limited?

    TIA
    What are you up to now?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    I can guarantee you it is something...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by sysint View Post
    I can guarantee you it is something...
    You must have lost your link to Niagara Central, so here it is.
    Niagara Central

    And here's something cool that's coming out soon. I hope Dear Leader will allow me to own one.
    98B

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by sysint View Post
    AX capacity questions. I get differing explanations on capacity for LON devices on an AX box. Is this completely dependent on available resources or are there other considerations? For instance, does the box always consider all variables from a node or is more like the ilon100 where you pick the variables you want to deal with?

    I'd like to know a practical average of how many devices an AX box can handle.

    Also, can you leverage a AX to utilize IP852 or is this a lost cause because the box is limited?

    TIA
    As of Revision 3.2 IP852 is a go.
    The white papers are at the bottom of the page.
    http://www.tridium.com/cs/library/ax_library

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Does the box have enough physical capacity to make use of IP852? I'm thinking it doesn't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Which kool-aid whitepaper talks about IP852? TIA.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Be careful, you're walking into a sysint mine field.

    He's not after info.

    He's thought this AX bash out 40 moves ahead.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    nothing like that on this one NINAX. I'm just assembling some practical information on the product. I used to play chess as a kid and about the farthest I would get is 6 moves in advance... so crediting 40 to me is quite the compliment. Thanks

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by sysint View Post
    Does the box have enough physical capacity to make use of IP852? I'm thinking it doesn't.
    Hmm. Why do you say that? You need to define "Box" as well.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Quote Originally Posted by freddy-b View Post
    Hmm. Why do you say that? You need to define "Box" as well.
    I'm trying to understand their architecture and the capacity of each product in a Lonworks network.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    473
    Not sure why the heavy-duty suspicion...maybe I'm too clueless to have ever seen a hidden agenda from sysint...but anyway, my two cents:

    As far as I can determine, the LON capacity of the box depends entirely on available resources, just as any integration in the box does. Now, it's still a foggy area exactly how Tridium handles memory management, as Ninax can testify that two disparately-priced JACE models can show vastly different abilities when certain memory stacks are compared ("heap" vs. available RAM) - the whole point is that "available resources" is a very nebulous term.

    There's nothing in my experience that indicates that a JACE would have any problem handling IP852, if it had enough memory to function normally (some JACE models seem, well, underpowered...but there's a couple kickin' models that handle anything you can throw at them - I'd have no problem experimenting with IP852 on a JACE6 (with or without expanded memory) or a JACE-NXS).

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    There's no USB port on a JACE so for IP852 does it utilize the Echelon config server or does it have it's own implementation?

    Anyway, how many ASC LON controllers can you dump into the JACE 6?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event