Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Confused Quadrafire Castile Not Feeding Pellets...

    Hi all,

    I am the inherited owner of a freestanding quadrafire castile pellet stove. Last winter, our pellet stove decided to stop working properly. Here is what happened...

    Pellet stove turns on, blower is functional, thermostat set and stove is calling for pellets.

    Initially, pellets were dropping, but after a while, they would stop and the blower would constantly run while no pellets were being fed in.

    Pellets will burn if placed into the pot maually, but are still not being fed.

    Blower will continue to run if we plug in the stove, but again, no pellets being fed.

    I'm thinking that maybe the auger went out, but not sure.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,205

    Exclamation not feeding pellets

    If there are insufficient pellets in the hopper, it will lose vacuum and not feed. Same for a dirty, blocked vent. If the thermocouple is bad or the ceramic sheath is not inserted fully, it cannot sense so the sequence will halt when the first handful of pellets are consumed. There could be an obstruction in/ around the auger, which is more common than you'd think. Regardless, you need a qualified technician to clean, service and inspect it. You can go to www.quadrafire.com to locate a dealer near you or www.nficertified.org to find a pellet specialist near you.

  3. #3
    Hopper is completely full...(not a complete idiot). I've cleaned it several times...but i'll make sure there isn't an obstruction blocking the feed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    If pellets drop at first I doubt the auger is bad, since it is working initially. You have two options

    1) Get a pro to come look at it, clean the whole thing up and show you how to do it yourself in the furture. It probably either needs no parts or possibly a thermocouple. Most problems with pellet stoves is from lack of PROPER cleaning.

    2) Throw parts at it yourself and hope it starts working.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    S.E. Pa
    Posts
    6,205

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by bdcw View Post
    Hopper is completely full...(not a complete idiot). I've cleaned it several times...but i'll make sure there isn't an obstruction blocking the feed.
    Nobody here called you a complete idiot. I simply pointed out that as the hopper level drops below a critical point, you lose vacuum and thus it will quit feeding pellets before it runs dry. For someone asking free advice, you're a little snippy.

    As for JTP's point, I agree 100%. For one thing, what you feel is "cleaning" may not be getting to everywhere that can and should be cleaned.

    When you plug in the stove, the combustion blower will run automatically for a few minutes on its own.

    From the sequence you first described, it is not making it from ignition to sustained burn. If it can drop pellets sufficient to ignite, it usually but not always means the feed system is ok. I would check the sheath on the TC for good contact. There is a separate LED from the call light. When the TC hits 200F, this LED lights green, which puts the ingniter on a reduced timer. Once it hits 600F, the igniter cycles off and you should be self sustaining. If you aren't getting these LEDs, call a tech as we cannot give DIY advice over what's in the owner's manual.

  6. #6
    My question is also for Hearthman, in ref. to the auger feed system. I have a Mt. Vernon with the same problem, My question is could it be the vac. switch? when I blow it out it works for a min. then stops, please help.

    Mark

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Is your exhaust partially obstructed?

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by sysint View Post
    Is your exhaust partially obstructed?
    only thing i have not checked, thanks, will let u know.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Markwho View Post
    only thing i have not checked, thanks, will let u know.
    got it working,vac. line dirty.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    I had one with the same situation last week, it would not go into a normal burn. The thermocouple was working and the green / red lights would light up, but what would happen is on start up mode the comb blower runs on high, and it was barely pulling enough vacuum to allow the auger to run. Then when it kicked into the medium setting he had the stove on it would drop below 0.5" WC and the vac switch would open. Only thing I could figure out was a restricted exhaust path. He was going to pull his stove forward the next day and clean the horizontal vent and call me if it did not fix it. He has my cell # on speed dial I think, and I never heard from him so I guess that was it. BTW I would have helped him clean it but I stopped on my way home and it was like 6:30 PM already.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Webster, NY
    Posts
    3
    I have a Quadafire Castile that will not feed pellets on start up. Call button is lit but auger will not turn on. Cleaned out hopper, checked snap discs for continuity. I opened the control box and the light on the board flashes continuously when I unplug/plug in the machine. Any ideas what to check next?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    I replied to puckguy43 in the new thread he also started.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event