Thread: Variable speed?

Question Variable speed?

Am looking to replace my 12 year old York 10 seer 2 ton heat pump and air handler. Live in a 1200 sq ft 2 story condo (2nd and 3rd floor) near Annapolis, MD.

Everyone is quoting me a variable speed air handler but am not sure I should go with this or not.

Was originally looking for a 14 Seer 2 ton Trane heat pump and air handler.

Have had 2 quotes so far.
    One is for a 15 or 16 Seer Trane heat pump and air handler
    The 2nd is a quote on a 15 or 16 Nutone heat pump and air handler.
    Both have 10 year parts and labor warranties but the 16 seer Nutone is less cost than the Trane.

Couple of questions.
    1. Do I go with the variable speed handler or not?
    2. Do I really need a 16 seer vs a 14 or 15.
    3. Any comments on the Nutone?

This is my first time replacing any heating systems and the more I read the more confused I get and you guys seem to be the best source of reliable info!

Thanks for any help!

have no opinion on the nutone, never saw one.

really do like the v drive blowers and so far not 1 with any problems.

customers just cannot believe how quiet they are.

Where is the air handler located. Some condo set ups are not good for VS blowers.

Are any of your registers currently noisy/loud. If so, a VS will most likely be louder.

Ask those companies to do a static test now before you get a VS blower.

I am a fan of VS blowers. But some companies recomend them, and don't check the existing duct system first. And most people aren't happy hearing what it will cost to alter the duct work later.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Variable speed?

Thanks for the quick response!