Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Flame Sensors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    79

    Flame Sensors

    What should be a good measurable voltage/current on flame sensors in general.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Most will be in the 2-4 ľA range, but some controls run a lower flame rectification current.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    You think he'll be able to do anything with that DYI info you gave him, Mark?-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    You think he'll be able to do anything with that DYI info you gave him, Mark?-
    What DIY info?
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    What DIY info?
    The "Voltage/current" of a sensor.

    Unless this guy has other ideas he didn't ask that just to be more educated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    79
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    You think he'll be able to do anything with that DYI info you gave him, Mark?-
    I can do alot with that info. It has been a while since I have seen flame sensor readings so I was just trying to get a little reminder info. I did not ask how to get the reading on a flame sensor, that is not a problem. No need to be a wise guy. I understand the rules of the forum. I am not a new to the industry either. As soon as I get enough post I will sign up for the Pro side of the forum. I appreciate the info that was given.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,750
    Only takes 15 post, so you already have enough.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ft.Worth,Tx
    Posts
    4,584
    If he does not know what voltage the flame sensor has he should not be working on the furnace.
    "Everyday above ground, is a good day".
    "But everyday that you have made a difference in someones life, may insure you stay above ground a little longer".<aircooled>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by aircooled53 View Post
    If he does not know what voltage the flame sensor has he should not be working on the furnace.
    LOL..ain't that the truth.

    Musta gave him info on a smart valve

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    south carolina
    Posts
    175
    Theres a big difference between step by step instructions and information thats free to anyone.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by super_tech_1 View Post
    Theres a big difference between step by step instructions and information thats free to anyone.
    if he's a tech, great. Let 'em apply for Pro status. That's where this belongs any way, in the pro section. And he does not state he's a tech in his profile.

    Until he does he's gonna get jumped on by somebody who doesn't know him who is enforcing the rules.

    And just so you know that info should not be free in an open forum.

    Like the rest of us we had to pay for an HVAC education.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    Until he does he's gonna get jumped on by somebody who doesn't know him who is enforcing the rules.
    No rule was broken, by the question or any answers given.
    No instructions were asked for or given. If he didn't already know how to check the flame rectification current, Joe DIY homeowner wouldn't be any closer to being able to test his own furnace with that info than he was without.
    Far more detailed info is available with a simple Google search. In fact, the #1 result for the search phrase "flame rectification" is an article published by the owner of this site.

    If you want to play at moderator, apply to be one.

    And just so you know that info should not be free in an open forum.
    I disagree, that information should be easily available.
    IMO, it should be required for manufacturers to list it on the control itself.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    I value my education too much to give it away.

    Just the same as some of the combustion experts are not free with their info(just an example you understand) even when asked in the pro forums.

    You are free to post how ever you feel is apropriate concerning HVAC science, just as I am free to disagree.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event