Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Confused meat display case help

im a hvac tech but unfortanatly i never went to school for refrigeration.. I have a brother who has a little store out in the country and his meat display case keeps freezing up.. the system has r12 in it and i was wondering what thw pressures should read when working appropriately? i know its either low on freon or the defrost timer is bad.. and also would u convert to 134 or use hot shot if it is low on freon??

Quote Originally Posted by a88ruby View Post
    im a hvac tech but unfortanatly i never went to school for refrigeration.. I have a brother who has a little store out in the country and his meat display case keeps freezing up.. the system has r12 in it and i was wondering what thw pressures should read when working appropriately? i know its either low on freon or the defrost timer is bad.. and also would u convert to 134 or use hot shot if it is low on freon??
    you should recover the R-12 first, then use the hot shot.

do u know aabout the pressures? im not for sure its low! he can unplug over night and let defrost and them it takes about a month or so to freeze back im thinking its the timer

The case should be running at 38-40 degrees, so with R12 your back pressure should be roughly 40 ish and R12 has a pretty low head pressure.

You need a PT chart. LOL

Just timed defrost? Not electric? Did you check the timer?

This is why "Bubba's" should stay out of refrigeration.

do u know aabout the pressures? im not for sure its low! he can unplug over night and let defrost and them it takes about a month or so to freeze back im thinking its the timer
    I would say that if it take's a month to ice up I would be checking the
    defrost timer first.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

To apply for professional membership click here

Educational forums are open.

If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here