Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Solidyne

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    496

    Solidyne

    I just ran into my first solidyne system today. what program Do I need to get into this IZAC-XL controller? Is it proprietary?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    442
    The IZAC XL is a Universal Controller. There is a IZAC-XL-4 and -8 depending on the number of inputs. There are a few different communications methods, most likely it is proprietary. There is probably some sort of network interface maybe a M202.

    As far as getting into the system you will need the proprietary software ICMS (IZAC Control & Monitoring System) with the correct cables.

    I see you are in Connecticut. Our company took over the local Solidyne control division of the former dealer in January. We have about 6 guys that have been working with the line for about 15 years. It might be one of their old accounts. There have been some other companies doing it in the past as well. I deal mainly with other systems, but have sold Solidyne and know a little about it. I used to have a copy, but know that our company is the local dealer I do not want to boot leg it.

    It is an okay system, nothing special. Low end if you ask me, one step above TCS Basys.

    If you want to talk more or need any help shoot me a email, You never know who’s reading these posts.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    496
    That's what I was afraid of. I only have 2 split systems with these controls so I guess it will be tear out time when it has a problem. Thanks for the reply

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    442
    Yeah, that’s unfortunate. The dealer that had the line used it on their design build jobs. For 2 split systems if programmed right it will do the job.

    The bad part about Solidyne is they do not offer a user interface without the software package. Kind of stupid since it is a lower end system. All they need is something equivalent to the Carrier System Pilot just to allow for monitoring and minor changes onsite.

    Wish I had better news, hopefully it runs for awhile without any problems.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by twisted pair View Post
    Yeah, that’s unfortunate. The dealer that had the line used it on their design build jobs. For 2 split systems if programmed right it will do the job.

    The bad part about Solidyne is they do not offer a user interface without the software package. Kind of stupid since it is a lower end system. All they need is something equivalent to the Carrier System Pilot just to allow for monitoring and minor changes onsite.

    Wish I had better news, hopefully it runs for awhile without any problems.
    They have their digital display, but you need to program it to make it useful. Surprisingly they are doing quite well with OEM markets and overseas. I used their old "Clipper" products back in the early eighties ago, it was fairly advanced back then.

    I just got an email from Adam yesterday saying they are rolling out a whole new bunch of things. I visited them a year ago (they are local) and saw a couple things they were working on. I hope they have a hit, I always liked the owner (Baha, and both his sons).

    For accessories they are very low cost.

    They offer a Lon line also.
    Intelli-Building = Less Stress, commissioned with diligence!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    651
    Bumping an old thread because I ran into this stuff too. I dont even know where to begin with this stuff other than rip it all out. There are panels filled with relays and apparently its tied into the system, I dont see how because it doesnt seem like there are enough outputs compared to the amount of relays. Id like to put in an FX jace but is there a driver for these things? The controllers are IZAC-XL, do these use a proprietary protocol?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    256

    Solidyne

    Quote Originally Posted by Igotworms View Post
    Bumping an old thread because I ran into this stuff too. I dont even know where to begin with this stuff other than rip it all out. There are panels filled with relays and apparently its tied into the system, I dont see how because it doesnt seem like there are enough outputs compared to the amount of relays. Id like to put in an FX jace but is there a driver for these things? The controllers are IZAC-XL, do these use a proprietary protocol?
    Yes there is a driver for these things. You can call them and they will direct where to buy it.
    Greg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    651
    Has anyone on here used it before? Did it work well? Just looking for some feedback with these things

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    256

    Drivet

    Quote Originally Posted by Igotworms View Post
    Has anyone on here used it before? Did it work well? Just looking for some feedback with these things
    I have not used it my self but I know someone that has. Said it worked ok

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event