Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329

    Trane VAV UCM 4.2

    I have a problem on this box and there is no front end to look at the system. What trane software can I use to access this controller. I want to look at the setpoints/parameters etc and not sure if I have to do any program editing.
    UA Local 141

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    462

    Rover

    You need Rover Service tools and a connector kit
    Law Of The Thermostat: He who has the thermostat wins!!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Thank you
    UA Local 141

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by berg2666 View Post
    I have a problem on this box and there is no front end to look at the system. What trane software can I use to access this controller. I want to look at the setpoints/parameters etc and not sure if I have to do any program editing.
    To be a little more specific, you need Rover with COMM-4 hardware kit. Rover has two hardware options, COMM-4 and Comm-5(LON).

    The other option is to use an older DOS software & hardware package called 'Everywhere' (it's been discontinued). To use Everywhere on a UCM 4.2 you will need version 1.35

    Hope this helps.

    Knobber

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Comm 5 is LON and comm4 is (trane proprietary)?
    UA Local 141

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    729
    Yes comm4 is trane proprietary

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,149
    Choose your computer wisely. Once your copy of Rover is installed it phones home and locks it to that computer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    232
    If you are having problems with the box its not likely to be a programming issue. If it is an older box (Varitrac) it is more than likely a drive problem. There are three wires that hook up to the controller. Common, open, close. You can take the open /close drive wires off the board and touch the open wire to the common. Vice versa for closed. Make sure the end switches are making and that they kill the motor. Most of the time I am asked to work on a TRANE box this is usually the issue. Or those POS Erie actuators they use for reheat control.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by gbfromsd View Post
    Choose your computer wisely. Once your copy of Rover is installed it phones home and locks it to that computer.
    You can transfer rover to any computer but you can't have it on more than one without buying more than one copy its that whole copyright thing you know god forbid the manufacturer charge money for things they make we shouldn't be allowed to make money only contractors and service company's huh

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by gbfromsd View Post
    Choose your computer wisely. Once your copy of Rover is installed it phones home and locks it to that computer.
    Dell works best with Trane Software. Without all the extra junk on it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by GONFISHN View Post
    If you are having problems with the box its not likely to be a programming issue. If it is an older box (Varitrac) it is more than likely a drive problem. There are three wires that hook up to the controller. Common, open, close. You can take the open /close drive wires off the board and touch the open wire to the common. Vice versa for closed. Make sure the end switches are making and that they kill the motor. Most of the time I am asked to work on a TRANE box this is usually the issue. Or those POS Erie actuators they use for reheat control.
    Yup. And the little motors burn out regularly, and can be a pain to replace!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    250
    Just guessing, but if I were a betting man, I would say that this isn't a cone damper with the motor that has the end switches. The reason that I say that is the thread title says "UCM 4.2". All of the older cone dampers that I have seen are UCM 3 or 4.0. But I said betting, not saying that this is the case.

    And you can move rover to another computer, maybe they give some people some grief, but I've never had a problem with it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event