Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

brazing vs. soldering

I am just starting to learn the trade, so please bear with me. On brazing lines vs. soldering, the instructor told me that ALL connections should be brazed using at least 15% silver, if not 45 % silver. However,the book states that it is OK to use 5 % stay-brite silver solder for things like the line dryer since you don't want to expose it to the type of temperature that comes with brazing. Also, it states that it would make the line dryer easier to replace at a later date. I was under the assumption that when changing the line dryer, you normally cut them out?? And with the solder, the the instructor says stay with brazing. Any thoughts from the people who do this everyday?? Thanks for any help you can give.

I heat and remove the drier whenever possible.
    If you do it quickly it can be done in 1 motion.
    I use Sil-Fos 5% most of the time. On tx and roto-lock valves I use Easy-Flo 45.
    I use an Acetylene Turbo Torch for Sil-Fos and Oxy-Acetylene for the Easy-Flo.
    There are some copper piping jobs which specify 15% Sil-Fos so I use it when I have to.
    It is slightly more ductile than the 5% but I've yet to get a leak on a joint I've brazed.

i use 15% for everything

even brass to copper as well as steel to copper

i used to use staybrite but its a pain in the arse and probably not as strong as 15% IMO

I know a lot of people who use silver solder. I think it's called "Stay Bright # 8" or something like that.

I even know people who have changed out compressors using that stuff.

I haven't been in the trade long, but I absolutely hate that stuff. Here's why:

1. You have to use that flux stuff. The sticks I use don't require any of that stuff. Really, I don't even think you have to sand the copper, but I do it anyway.

2. It only works with reallly tight fittings. With the brazing sticks, you can fill in pretty noticable gaps. You can even patch holes in condenser coils with it.