Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 54
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,876
    Quote Originally Posted by jjer View Post
    I have to ask. Any chance you went with the lowest estimate? You should not be having to get online to figure out how to use the system a contractor just installed. They should go through everything
    It might be the first IAQ they installed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    41
    1st or not never leave a job not working. i believe he said they "came back" to fix but sounds like something they should have seen right away

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    43
    Yes its the first one they installed. No one in town had installed one of the 4 contractors I called. It was the only contractor who even did a manual load calc etc. They weren't the cheapest, though there was not a huge difference in price in the ones I called. Less than 200 bones.

    Apparently dehumidification is not enabled. How do I enable it?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,876
    Not allowed to tell you how.

    But its in the install manual.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    43
    I'll check it and try to enable it then. Is there anything they would've needed to wire differently for that to work?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,876
    Quote Originally Posted by dkurmay View Post
    1st or not never leave a job not working. i believe he said they "came back" to fix but sounds like something they should have seen right away
    Should have, yes.
    But them being unfamilar with the stat and everything it does. I can see how they could miss something.

    Especially if they added a jumper in the manor I think they did.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,876
    Nothing to make it do cool to dehumidify, But.
    Well, in order to slow the blower down. They do have to wire up the Dhum contacts, and they may or may not have.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    43
    I enabled it... I'm not sure if they wired those contacts though. I'll try to check and call them back tomorrow if they didn't.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,876
    By raising and lowering the dehumider setting, You should be able to hear a change in the blower.

    May need someone to be next to the air handler to hear it. Depending on your duct system.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    43
    lowering the humidifier setting should slow the blower correct?

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,876
    Yes.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    43
    No noticable change in blower speed when lowering the humidity level. I'm guessing the DHUM contact is not wired. I'll give them a ring tomorrow. Anything else I should check or ask for when I call to make sure the thermostat is hooked up completely?

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,876
    You might want to find out what they have the blowers CFM set for.
    Some contractors tend to leave them at factory setting. Which is seldom correct.

    Other then that, nothing I can think of at the moment.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event