Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Trane A/C info

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Tyler, Tx.
    Posts
    4

    Trane A/C info

    Can someone decipher the numbers on this unit for me

    Mod# BTD736B100A0
    Ser# Y26213970


    Outside unit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dallas & Longview, TX
    Posts
    629
    3 ton 10 SEER manufactured in 1997.

    Just a guess. Let the pro's verify.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,590
    B is an oldie from the GE days. Sometime in the 80s, I would say in the 8 SEER range. It is a 3 ton though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Tyler, Tx.
    Posts
    4
    this a/c is in a house that is 2200 sq. feet.
    It seemed to cool off pretty well, but that seems like a small unit for the size house. What do you guys think?

    Matt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    6,959
    Quote Originally Posted by mattdzero View Post
    this a/c is in a house that is 2200 sq. feet.
    It seemed to cool off pretty well, but that seems like a small unit for the size house. What do you guys think?

    Matt
    No one can tell you without doing a load calculation...could be to small, to big or just right...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Tyler, Tx.
    Posts
    4
    hmmm! can a regular a/c guy run this test? Is it pretty expensive?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    You can do it yourself (at a price) by clicking the HVAC-Calc link at the top of the page. It involves determining insulation factors, window factors, and more... Few companies will do them for replacements, but it's certainly a good way to determine you have the proper-size system. Does it cool well on the hottest days? Does it short cycle or long cycles on hot days? 2200 sq. ft. on a 3 ton doesn't sound out of the ordinary for my area, but it varies by area and construction type. Texas can get hot... you say the unit cools well, though.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,759
    If its cooling the house, and keeping the humidity down.
    Going to a larger unit, would raise the humidity in your house, and cause you to set your stat lower to be comfortable.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Tyler, Tx.
    Posts
    4
    Really? I never tought about that. It would raise the humidity.

    The house I am in now has a brand new trane 3 ton 13 seer unit that I had installed and on really hot days(in the 100's) if I were to set the thermostat to 70 it would probably never reach it until evening. My house is only 1450 sq. feet.

    I love my a/c though.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,759
    On the days when its not at 100°.

    Its on time would be less, and it would remove a little less moisture from the air.
    How much less moisture varies with how much shorter the on time is, and some other factors.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event