Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hot water leak check????

O.K. I already have my own opinion about pressurizing low pressure chillers with hot water but want to hear from other experienced techs in the industry about the practice. As for me, I am done with it due to causing leaks and the frustration of not being able to find the leaks. AM I THE ONLY ONE?

Sounds like you are doing something wrong, I have been using hot water to heat up machines for the last 18 years and have never had a problem.

So I guess to answer your question, you're the only one I know.
    If you dont stand behind our troops, please feel free...........to stand in front of them.

To test Boilers use cold water. What's the science behind hot water?

Duh...

My bad... after reading next two posts realized I just had a brain fart.

Dumass I be, ha ha!
    Last edited by Snoring Beagle; 09-05-2008 at 10:59 AM.

Expect nothing, yet expect the unexpected.
    Press on Regardless, Endeavor to Persevere.

You should not even take out the detector until youget to at least 5 psig I feel your pain its a long wait and check that your valves are not leaking by.I opened a thread here about ultra sonic leakdetectors but the company i work for wants us to see bubbles after useing the h-10. But we get paid by the hour at 8 psig you should find everything.

It has pretty much become the standard for testing low pressure chillers over the last fifteen years or so. Most companies that service any amount of low pressure machines have their own rigs setup to do this process. Don't know why you dislike it because it makes your life easier. Work smarter not harder. just be aware of your pressure so you don't pop her open at the disk.

I have never had issues w/ our leak testing rig.

http://www.mechanicalingenuity.com/prevacportable.ivnu

They make one that gets installed in-place as well.