Water sourced heat exchanger...

Hi everyone. Thanks for all the great info on this site. I am fairly new to the refrigeration cycle but I think I have a better than average (for a student) understanding of the cycle.

I am experimenting with installing a water sourced heat exchanger as a replacement to the typical residential air sourced condenser. I built a crude unit and I am not getting my expected results. I am hoping that someone could explain the results I am seeing.

The heat exchanger ("coil") is very basic. Appox. 30' of 1/4" copper tubing inside a 5/8" garden hose. 1/2" PVC pipe, tees and brass compression fittings on both ends isolate and seal the copper from the hose allowing water to flow around the copper. This is all rolled into a nice 12" coil. Crude, but it works. It's soaking up heat like butter in the Sun.

The current system is a 4 ton non-reversing air exchange system. And works perfectly.

My original installation design was to use a reversing valve to direct the high pressure off the compressor to the existing condenser or my coil based on a water flow switch. This would allow for a backup condenser in the event of a failed pump or a loss of water supply i.e. Lake dried up. After much thought, I made an quasi-educated guess that I might be able to avoid the valve and simply install the coil in series after the condenser (on the high side of course). My logic was that the compressor will only work as hard as needed to get the pressure high enough to throw off heat to the coolest medium. Apparently I erred in this logic.

Here's my data: all temps F.

Prior to coil installation: "baseline"

Working medium R22
    Outside temp 90
    Inside temp 79
    high side 250psi
    suction 70psi
    subcooling delta 10
    plenum delta 20
    compressor current avg. 4.2Amps per leg