Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 28

Thread: new thermostat

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    20141
    Posts
    1,153
    I have the VP 8000 and the greatest feature of all is that I can lock my old lady out of the thermostat! Plus it guides me to the toilet @ night.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,334
    Quote Originally Posted by addamsmasher View Post
    I have the VP 8000 and the greatest feature of all is that I can lock my old lady out of the thermostat! Plus it guides me to the toilet @ night.
    She mailed me 10 bucks to tell her what the lock out code is.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    747
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    40, is the highest compressor lock out temp.


    Heat pump compressor lockout
    0 No heat pump compressor lockout
    [Other options: 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40°F (-9.5°C to 7°C)]

    I kept the compressor lockout feature off but I wish I could keep the heat strips locked out down to 30, looks like 40 is the minimum on this stat.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    747
    Quote Originally Posted by addamsmasher View Post
    I have the VP 8000 and the greatest feature of all is that I can lock my old lady out of the thermostat! Plus it guides me to the toilet @ night.

    If I lock mine out of the stat, she'll lock me out of the house!

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chester County PA
    Posts
    386
    Quote Originally Posted by skwsproul View Post
    I may install a uv light and I have read that it has features for it as well.

    That is only a reminder for bulb replacement. Just like the air filter change interval and humidifier pad replacement interval.


    As far as humidification for your rooftop unit goes...
    What state are you in that's dry enough to where you and your friends are all talking about it but people are still using room humidifiers?

    There are also mister systems you can "inject" a spray pattern into your duct. If you live in an dry area this may work for you with no worries on fungus or mold. You can always counter act that with a uv light.

    Are you in a 1 floor ranch style with a rooftop?
    All you need is a return trunk to mount a powered humidifier on some place that's not going to freeze in the winter (like an interior wall)


    I just did a tune up on a 7 year old natural gas furnace today. When I went to the top of the stairs to run the unit I looked at his contractor grade, RiteTemp t-stat. I looked at the customer dead in the face and asked him "do you like this thermostat?" He said no...
    30 minutes later I finished my tuneup and he had a Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 on his wall and he loved it!

    ~smoke~
    "That motor's done, he let the factory smoke charge out!"

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    747
    Actually smoke, I am the one that was talking about the rtu with no humidfier.

    Whole house humidifiers are rare here, I dont know why but you just dont ever see them.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,334
    Quote Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
    I kept the compressor lockout feature off but I wish I could keep the heat strips locked out down to 30, looks like 40 is the minimum on this stat.
    The IAQ has lower settings for the strip/aux heat lock out.

    Except for recovery. The 8320 set at 3 CPH doesn't bring on the strips unless really needed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    27
    I am having 2 Honeywell vision pro for the furnaces I have, one in the main floor and one in the bedroom up stair, when ever the unit kick in to function that is a "Click" sound, for the main floor I am careless about the click, but when is quiet in the bedroom, that click is very ignoring, it take a wile to get use to it. Otherwise this is a very good T-stat.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,334
    For a stat in a bedroom. The IAQ is much better, no click.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    747
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    The IAQ has lower settings for the strip/aux heat lock out.

    Except for recovery. The 8320 set at 3 CPH doesn't bring on the strips unless really needed.

    Put in outdoor sensor today, set strip lockout to 40 and CPH to 3.

    Now I'll sit back and wait for January to roll around and see how well it works

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    20141
    Posts
    1,153
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    She mailed me 10 bucks to tell her what the lock out code is.
    Actually she spent about 2 hours online looking for it and once she did I just jumper out R to Y

    PS I've never put in an IAQ why don't you hear relays clicking on it?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,305
    Quote Originally Posted by addamsmasher View Post
    PS I've never put in an IAQ why don't you hear relays clicking on it?
    Haven't yet? Wow.. It's a great system!

    The IAQ has a remote panel that is mounted near the furnace. This is where the relays are at.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,334
    Quote Originally Posted by mayguy View Post
    Haven't yet? Wow.. It's a great system!

    The IAQ has a remote panel that is mounted near the furnace. This is where the relays are at.
    What he said.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event