Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    lynchburg V.A.
    Posts
    43

    need help with something

    hello lynchburg virginia here-- I myself have 17 years in the hvac field but now i own a property management company in lynchburg virginia that handles about 200 rentals in the past i would do all the heating and air work that was needed myself but now don't have the time any more to handle it Ive been using a guy for several months now that is very good has great prices and 99% of the time is same day service problem is he does not have a hvac card the only card he has is a freon card and a home improvement licence and a liability insurance policy does he need to have a hvac master card to make repairs to my systems typically he adds freon replaces filters fan motors and such if a system needs replacing i will install it myself since i have my master hvac card and a class a contractors card i have looked on the va dpor site but can't find any thing about making repairs mostly it say you must be certified to install a system any help will be appreciated
    Last edited by browningv308; 08-13-2008 at 09:16 PM. Reason: install location

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    In Florida he needs a llicense.

    Might want to repost with your location in the title of the thread,since you need a local response.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,468
    From what I can recall, someone in the "company" needs a mech. masters' card to be doing work in the HVAC field, which covers all employees. I can't guarantee, but that is how our co. works, for plumbing, elec, and mech.
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cedar Grove, Wi-Sheboygan
    Posts
    1,582
    Yep I seem to have read that somewhere myself that when the company owner is liscensed he covers all field employees with his liscense. You maybe in the same situation where your liscense will cover him since he works for you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    wash dc metro area
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by tunnel_rat View Post
    From what I can recall, someone in the "company" needs a mech. masters' card to be doing work in the HVAC field, which covers all employees. I can't guarantee, but that is how our co. works, for plumbing, elec, and mech.
    That is the way I understand it Tunnel, our main office is in Virginia and I dont think that more than one or two of our 30+ techs have a masters lic.
    We also run calls in Maryland, PA, DC and west by-god VA. I have been told that Maryland requires a masters for service techs but does not enforce the rule. All these states require a masters licence to pull a permit for new work or a change out.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,776
    PA doesn't.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event