Results 1 to 13 of 16

Thread: sizing problem

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Question sizing problem

    i have a new goodman 3.5 ton split system installed. its a year old and the installer says it has a 5 ton evap. coil. this is a heatpump and i went through the power company and had all new duct work install and manual j done. its freaking hot even on cool days and the thing runs all the time it seems. i understand that its a good thing for it to run but the house starts heating up mid morning and continues until late at night before it cools off. the company man has rerun the manual j and checked the load and says its ok. he said it was my old windows and doors. ok i know they needed replacing so i did that. its still hot............... the power company sent thier man to run a manual j and check the load on the unit..........guess who shows up too........ the installer. anyway the power company comes up with the same figures, the unit has a variable speed fan motor and i was running it in the on position. he says to put it on auto that that may be the problem.............well guess what its still hot...............help any ideas on what i should do now. i have been thinking of calling another company and pay them to do another manual j but thought they may just want to sale me another unit what would be my best route to go thanks in advance guys your all great.............

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    Your poor windows should be calculated into the load calc.
    Why the 5-ton coil?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    Probably a Goodman 4260 or 4860 coil, which can be used with more than one size outdoor unit, including a 5 ton.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    To acheive a higher SEER i guess?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    Possibly. That's just the way Goodman's coils and air handlers are. They are compatible with more than one outdoor unit nominal capacity. Similar to Carrier. http://www.goodmanmfg.com/Portals/0/pdf/SS-GCoil.pdf

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanHughes View Post
    Possibly. That's just the way Goodman's coils and air handlers are. They are compatible with more than one outdoor unit nominal capacity. Similar to Carrier. http://www.goodmanmfg.com/Portals/0/pdf/SS-GCoil.pdf
    I see the 3-3.5 and the 4-5 ton coils. I dont see any that are rated 3.5-5 though. Am I missing something?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,033
    Did they give you a copy of the load calc.
    If so, what is the sensible load.

    Have you checked for duct leakage.
    Did they check SH, and SC.
    What is the coil delta.

    How big is your house.
    Where are you located.(besides in Tenn)
    Last edited by beenthere; 08-12-2008 at 09:20 AM.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event