Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 52
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19

    New 15 SEER Goodman 410a system being installed. Questions...

    Right now our Air handler is in the attic. I've read its better for it to be in the closet is that true? Would our returns still be in the ceiling? Is it ok to just leave the new one in the attic?

    Should we go ahead and add insulation to the attic after we install the system.

    Our old system the repair man said was grounded? It keeps flipping the breaker. Can I see where its actually grounded at? By looking at the compressor or something?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    352
    In most cases your air handler would be better in the attic. That is assuming your attic is large enough for the unit and a decent service area. Some closet setups work very well, usually a closet limits the space for service, filtration and limits return air intake size.

    If your compressor is grounded, you would need a volt / ohm meter and a qualified person to see if it was grounded.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19
    What happens for it to be grounded? Is there a physical wire that has came loose? Can I open it up and see it? Can one repair it? Can one cause it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    kalamazoo,mich
    Posts
    2,174
    Stop right there. Put the tools down and back away from the condenser before you get hurt.
    Have you hugged the Earth today?
    Donny Baker rules

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,860
    Quote Originally Posted by pokerhard View Post
    What happens for it to be grounded? Is there a physical wire that has came loose? Can I open it up and see it? Can one repair it? Can one cause it?
    A wire could have come loose. Can't be repaired. You didn't cause this. You could cut the compressor open after it's removed, but why? There's an electric motor inside the compressor shell. A number of things could have caused this condition.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19
    Ok I'm just trying to understand what happened. Say you wanted to purposely ground it so it would just constantly flip the breaker if powered on. What would you do? Or how is one way it could be done?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,705
    I would say grounding it on purpose it`s not possible.
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,860
    Quote Originally Posted by pokerhard View Post
    Ok I'm just trying to understand what happened. Say you wanted to purposely ground it so it would just constantly flip the breaker if powered on. What would you do? Or how is one way it could be done?
    Reading between the lines, either you don't trust the service company, or you want to sabotage someone. It's an electrical motor inside the metal casing. Nobody I'm aware of would purposely ground a compressor. These things happen. How old is this unit? What brand name? Model number?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,880
    Quote Originally Posted by pokerhard View Post
    Can I see where its actually grounded at? By looking at the compressor or something?
    No, it would be an internal grounding.

    Anybody that has a GE Weathertron is on borrowed time.

    They were built like tanks. Very reliable. But, they don't last forever.

    Its over 20 years old. Let it rest in peace, with good memories.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,860
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    No, it would be an internal grounding.

    Anybody that has a GE Weathertron is on borrowed time.

    They were built like tanks. Very reliable. But, they don't last forever.

    Its over 20 years old. Let it rest in peace, with good memories.
    I missed that part. Where did it say what unit he has? Is there another thread?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,880
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,860
    Oh, twenty year old unit and he's wondering if it's been sabotaged? Highly unlikely. I won't waste any more time here.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Quote Originally Posted by pokerhard View Post
    Right now our Air handler is in the attic. I've read its better for it to be in the closet is that true? Would our returns still be in the ceiling? Is it ok to just leave the new one in the attic?

    Should we go ahead and add insulation to the attic after we install the system.

    Our old system the repair man said was grounded? It keeps flipping the breaker. Can I see where its actually grounded at? By looking at the compressor or something?
    Go ahead and replace it,might want a second estimate,for peace of mind,not to go with the low bidder.

    If ding insulation,you could end up needing a smaller system,Man. J load calculation will tell for sure,have it done.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event