Thread: Contractor Don'ts to Prospective Clients

Post Likes

Contractor Don'ts to Prospective Clients

Good Day everyone,

First off I know the rules no advice no prices!!

I will be the first to admit I am a complete novice with HVAC, however I am smart enough and do my due diligence when making a purchase and I know when things are about to get wonky.

Background:

Our 1983 York 3 ton A/C/furnace is on its last leg, how do I know this you ask? Well 1) It’s a 1983 York 2) It's R-22, and c) it has a small leak and that costs a fortune to fill every 2 years. My wife is pregnant, it’s August in Kansas City, and I am out of town several weeks; so it's inevitable this sucker is going down and I will have a hotter than usual pregnant wife. So I am doing my research on brands and from the advice on this forum and I have come to the conclusion that brands are one thing to look at but more importantly the best system on the market will perform horribly if not installed properly.

So I asked my friends on Facebook and received over 40 referrals for HVAC “Professionals” in the Kansas City area ranging from a one man shop to the largest residential HVAC firm. I have compiled a list of things seasoned contractors or anyone thinking of becoming a contractor should not say or do to a prospective client.

1. Do NOT quote me a price for a system over the phone without making a site visit. You trusted me to tell you how big my system was and the clearance of my air handler/furnace.

2. Just because I tell you I want be cooler do not just up-size my system to compensate.

3. When I ask how long a typical install will take DO NOT tell me your installs are quicker because you don’t perform a recovery of the R-22 because it’s just a “guideline” and not needed in all jurisdictions. Pretty sure KC is in the USA and the EPA has jurisdiction.